Poas Volcano Adventure!


Advertisement
Published: September 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Poas VolcanPoas VolcanPoas Volcan

This volcano was amazing! It was so cold and windy though.
Hola! Hope everyone had a great weekend! I didn’t travel too far this weekend, but I did see a couple of neat things within an hour or so bus ride of my house. And I did plan this upcoming weekend adventure to Puerto Viejo. It’s supposed to be a really neat beach on the Carribean side, Northwest of where I am. It should be about 5 hours on the bus which I will be leaving on Friday right after class. I’m definitely looking forward to it because right now it is the summer season for the Carribean Coast, which means great beach weather!

This past Saturday, I went to Poas Volcano. It was really neat to see and very surreal too because of how huge it actually is. It took about 1 hour to get there through the mountains, which is always fun driving. It was in a the Poas National Park so you had to hike, on a nicer paved path though, in the forest to get to the crater. The crater was absolutely huge and it had an acidic pool of water at the bottom that was steaming. On clear days, you can see so far out to
Poas 2Poas 2Poas 2

This is a view to the left of the volcano! Also amazing!
the Carribean Coast! Although it was a bit cloudy, I could see the crater perfectly. Check out my pictures! Also it was super cold and damp because we were up so high. I didn’t think that I would ever be cold here in Costa Rica! We were all dressed in jeans and sweatshirts or light jackets and wishing we had more layers. We also hiked for about 20 more minutes and came to a lagoon. Overall, the whole park and volcano was really neat. There is one other volcano here in Costa Rica that I want to go see before I leave. Unlike this one it is active and at night you can see lava flow from it!

On Sunday, I went to the pool and relaxed for a bit then went to Sarachi, a small town like 45 minutes from Carrillos (where I live). Sarachi is known for all of the shops with souvenirs which are all handmade. It started raining so we didn’t get too much shopping done. Rain really puts a damper on any activity because it always rains for at least 2-3 hours consistently!

This week has been great so far and especially yesterday!
I was really there!I was really there!I was really there!

Its me near the volcano!
I only had 2 hours of Spanish class in the morning then all of the students from NCC and our professor went to Café Britt. It’s a coffee plantation where they plant, harvest and sell coffee as well as give tours of the plant and how coffee is made. Coffee is one of the top exports of Costa Rica and let me tell you they do have some awesome coffee! It was so interesting to see how the whole process of coffee works and the time required. I won’t go into great detail, but if you are interested more about coffee production, when I get back let me know and I’d be happy to share what I’ve learned! We also had an amazing lunch at Café Britt and of course we got to sample coffee and chocolate covered coffee beans! Yum! Then we also made a stop at the Mall de flores. (Flores means ‘Flowers’ in Spanish) It’s a really nice and huge shopping mall! It was like any American Mall except they had a bunch of sales going on because its September and this whole month all retailers want to get rid of their merchandise and make room for
The lagoon!The lagoon!The lagoon!

We had to hike through the forest for about 20 minutes on the opposite side of the volcano!
the upcoming holiday/Christmas season! They even had Cinnabon at this mall!

The rest of this week I have Spanish Class then on Friday I’m going to Puerto Viejo to the Beach for the weekend! It’s in the Southeastern part of Costa Rica and I can’t wait!

Have a rest of your week and weekend!

Love, Courtney 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Hiking to the Lagoon!Hiking to the Lagoon!
Hiking to the Lagoon!

This is what the forest looked like on the way hiking to the lagoon!
It was amazing!It was amazing!
It was amazing!

Another view from the top of the volcano!
And again...And again...
And again...

Of course I took a ton of pictures!
Goregous Sunset!Goregous Sunset!
Goregous Sunset!

One night last week, my host mom told me to go outside my house because the sunset was an awesome!


24th September 2008

Looks like you are having a great time! I miss you all and love getting to see the great pics!
25th September 2008

Great hearing about your adventures!!
Hey Courtney, Mackenzie and I really enjoy reading all of your blogs. glad you are having fun!!! see you when you get home!!!
28th September 2008

Volcano
Hi Courtney, your mom shared your blog, and I am just amazed at all the wonderful photos! Don't know if i could do all the bus trips like you have, You are a trooper like your mom! Just wanted to say hello, and wish you well. I know you are missed back home. Have a wonderful week! Lisa
8th November 2008

Nice Pic
Verry Interesting to visit the Volcano.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb