first days


Advertisement
Published: August 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow there's been so much to do here and we havent even started classes. I signed up for my classes and it's all set. We had our orientation and got to know the other students better. I cant tell you how many times I've gotten lost so far in the city but it has to be over 20. (I just keep asking for directions and they keep trying to tell me.)

The food here is wonderful but I think my host mom is trying to make me fat based on the amounts of food she keeps trying to serve me. I love their "gallo pinto" or beans mixed with spices and garlic. It is simply a taste sensation.

So yesterday I went and explored the campus of the university and I found the choir! So now I am signed up to be in two different choirs in the university! What is cool is they just let me in and I started practicing with the choir that very day. Also I've sang a decent portion of their music before so that was pretty exciting.

Today I went to the country with my friend Leah! We ate at her host mom's cousin's house and explored the river nearby. Wow! The bridge that we walked on was sketchy to say the least (it spanned over fast moving but shallow water and was about ten feet up). We had a blast and learned about a lot of new fruit like guanabanas.

I cant wait to start school tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb