Another weekend


Advertisement
Published: November 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This weekend was quite eventful and productive. Friday, after my Spanish exam a few girls and I went to the orphanage in San Ramon. It was heartbreaking. They have 13 kids, 2 of which are infants, a 1 year old and a range of other kids up to 10. The one year old can’t walk yet or even pull himself up in anyway. One volunteer there we talked to thinks/said it is because no one has enough time to teach him how to walk; he just sits in his crib 24/7. We brought them all gifts, it was amazing to see their faces light up and be so excited to have something of their own. I can’t believe no one has taken this children home, they were all so sweet.

Saturday morning I woke up at 4 to catch a 5 AM bus to la fortuna, the volcano. It took about 2.5 hours to get there. Right away we booked our tour of zip lining, repelling, and horseback riding. We ate breakfast and then headed out for our adventure!

Zip lining was amazing! So much fun! It was probably my favorite little Costa Rica adventure to date. Our guides were awesome too. I think that’s what made it so great. Anyways, there were 10 lines, mostly 1 km high and about 200-300 meters long. On the last one, I got to hang by my feet with the guide, so crazy!

Repelling was not fun.

Horseback riding was okay. The horses were running on the trails for a while which was a little scary. Other than that it was okay, nothing special. I did see a snake on the trail swallowing a big frog- disgusting.

Overall, it was another great weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb