On the road again in Central America...


Advertisement
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Parque Juan SantamariaParque Juan SantamariaParque Juan Santamaria

Statue of national hero Juan Santamaria in the park with the same name. He died after torching the building that William Walker was holed up in during the war of 1856.
When traveling, it always takes me a couple of days to get settled and comfortable in my surroundings. This is especially true when everyone you meet in those first couple of days warns you to be on the lookout for thieves...

I arrived in Costa Rica around midnight, and didn´t have a hotel reservation so I would need to count on the taxi driver to provide a reccomendation. I ended up at a decent place in Alajuela, close to the airport. I woke up the next day packed, and asked for directions from the front desk to the bus station. She gave me directions but told me that I needed to be very careful and always be on the lookout for 'ladrones´ - ok, will do. I made my way to the bus station and the worker there told me to keep my pack on my lap so no one steals anything. ok - will do (although never again, crazy uncomfortable). The bus ride lasted 4 hours which provided the perfect opportunity to practice my spanish with the passengers next to me. I arrived in La Fortuna and decided to rest in the Parque Central and look in my guide
Alajuela CathedralAlajuela CathedralAlajuela Cathedral

Cathedral in the Parque Central in Alajuela.
book for a place to stay. Immediately a tourist police officer came up to me and told me, you guessed it, watch out for thieves. At this point I´m starting to believe that thieves are literally everywhere, is that one there behind that palm tree? But no, I didn´t run into any thieves on my first full day in Costa Rica, but I did run into many very nice Tico´s eager to speak to me about where I´m from, how do I like their country so far, and where am I planning to visit. And of course Obama, once they find out where I am from that question is soon to follow. I´m not sure how Obama will perform once in office, but he has already made traveling much easier.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

La FortunaLa Fortuna
La Fortuna

Parque Central in La Fortuna. Volvan Arenal is in teh distance, hidden behind the clouds that covered it for the duration of my stay.
Gringo Pete´sGringo Pete´s
Gringo Pete´s

The hostal I stayed at in La Fortuna. Private room with bathroom for I think $6. Cheapest place I stayed by far and the only place with remotely warm water.
Coati 1Coati 1
Coati 1

Spotted some Coati on the way to Volcan Arenal - they were definately hoping to be fed.
Volcan ArenalVolcan Arenal
Volcan Arenal

Still hidden behind clouds. I went with my friends from Sweden on a hike through the forest at the base of the volcano. We spotted monkeys, birds, and bats in the forest.


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb