Fixi-leaks, laundry, brown rice & walk to town


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 22nd 2011
Published: January 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well someone replaced the toilet upstairs that was causing leaks in my bathroom this morning. It really hasn't been a big problem but I noticed last night that there's some mold developing where it's wet. Darren said he's ordering three new ceiling tiles. As with everything in Latin America one has to be patient.

As I am trying to keep my expenses down while here (okay other than dark chocolate) I cooked up a large batch of brown rice this morning. It'll come in handy to eat in the coming days.

Doing laundry here still feels like a novel experience due to the semi-automatic washing machine. Once you set the dial to wash/rinse, and turn the lever to wash, you then add the clothes a soap and turn on the spigot (Keith it's exactly like the one we have on the west side of the house) so water will start filling up the machine. Once there's some water in there you then select on another dial how long you want it to wash. I've been using 9 minutes which is about halfway on the dial. Then at the end of the 9 minutes you take out some of the wet clothes and put them in the spin part...yep it's a 2-stage deal. Then you have to change the one dial to spin as well as the lever. Close the 2 lids and it takes off...sounding a bit like a jet plane. I forgot to mention that you have to set the length of spin dial. Amazingly in just one minute the clothes were well-spun ans ready top hang out to dry. This morning I did have one batch of clothes get out of balance in the spin cycle but I just had to redistribute the clothes and voila!

By 2pm I was ready to get out and walk. So I headed in the direction that I thought I'd been told to go to Kay's Gringo Cafe but alas I didn't find it. Need to get more directions. I finally have a so-so map of Atenas but it doesn't label much. I can make out central park and the church but that's about it. My walk afforded me good exercise and the opportunity to see some parts of town I'm not very familiar with. Oh yes and I stopped at a health food store to ask about gluten-free foods and she showed me three different mixes for quick breads...of course expensive. So instead of buying them I stopped at a candy store and bought some more dark chocolate!

Sorry no photos today.......

Ciao,
Barb





Advertisement



23rd January 2011

Ha! Chocolate to replace your desire for bread. Sounds like a fair trade to me! Although I am sure I would be going bonkers for bread if I were gluten-free. Interesting, that washing machine. It didn't look like it held many clothes mom and I thought. Fine for one person but not for a family I would guess. How is Margie doing? How are your eyes? Loving the humidity???!!! Love you! It's 8pm and 18˚. me
23rd January 2011

i think if I started eating regular ...
bread now I wouldn't be able to stop!!! You're right that the washing machine doesn't hold a huge amount fine for up to two people I think. My eyes are doing quite well but when I first got to San Jose I had a lot of problems. The only thing I can figure is it was from the pollution. Brrrr...18 huh?
23rd January 2011

Hi Barb, It is great to get your blogs and see what you are up to. It all sounds wonderful and the idea of being warm is so inviting. I am thinking of taking a bike ride this afternoon as it is all the way up to 48 degrees. Warm for here and now but still pretty chilly on a bike. Your laundry experience sounds very interesting. At least you were able to read the instructions on use. Nothing is more intimidating than a machine where one is guessing. I've had that experience, I thought that my clothes were never going to come out. Our group is continuing to meet and Diane is a good addition. Enjoy your time there! Alyce
24th January 2011

great to hear from you Alyce!
I heard from Keith that you guys were having warmish weather there! That's better than the usual cold & snow for January! I'm glad Diane is fitting in and enjoying the group! Take care...Barb

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb