Im going to Nicaragua this weekend!


Advertisement
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos! Happy Fall to those in “the states”! I bet the leaves are definitely turning shades of red and orange and the sun is setting a bit earlier everyday too, nearing towards the dreaded winter months ahead... it will be quite the shock as I step off of the plane in December because in just 6 short hours I will go from a beautiful summer day in Costa Rica to the chilly Chicago wind...nevertheless I am actually leaving Costa Rica this weekend!

This week flew by, as I had school everyday and many things to prepare for my upcoming week. First of all, I am going to Granada, Nicaragua this weekend! All of the students from NCC are going with and we leave bright and early on Saturday morning. Because we were not required to get Visas and we are in CR for more than 90 days we are required to leave the country for at least 72 hours. We are returning on Tuesday night and our free week begins until the following Sunday with classes beginning again on Monday! And I am so excited because my parents and brother are coming here on Wednesday - 1 week from yesterday! Whether they are ready or not they will be here! I know it is definitely scary leaving the country for the firs time and coming to another country with a different language, but I have tried my best to provide advice and prepare them for their adventure! We are going to be visiting Arenal Volcano and Isla Tortuga. Next time I write I will have tons of awesome pictures to post, from my NEW camera!!

My family here is great! This week, I went to my aunt & uncle house in the nearby town of Poas. They are such genuinely nice people! I have so much fun spending time with them. Sometimes I have to stop and think, ‘wow I really am understanding and talking in Spanish to them’ because they don’t talk slower to me anymore or have to say things really 5 different ways before I understand. It’s a great feeling to be able to talk, joke with them and just enjoy life because here in CR that is what it is all about. Taking the time to enjoy the small things of life like the company of others especially family, good conversations and of course good food! Also my little brother is quite a treat. He is such a boy! I think I understand boys a little better than I did before. And truly, I am lucky that I have a real brother (in the US) so I understand that little boys love to play and have the world’s greatest imaginations.

Lastly, I hope those of you who are over the age of 18 voted! I applied and received my absentee ballot a couple of weeks ago. It was very exciting for me because this was the first time I was able to vote in an election! Regardless of the outcome this election is going to make history and it is going to be interesting to see what happens.

Courtney’s Cultural Tidbit for the Day:

Some words in Spanish are the same in English and when I hear them it makes me chuckle because they are words you wouldn’t expect and I guess are kind of universal... for example: Mini, Super, Wow, Oops, Kinder (meaning kindergarten, but they just use Kinder)

Next time I write it will be November already! WOW, October has just flew by! Also.. Happy Halloween!!! Eat lots of candy for me!! 😊

Love,
Courtney


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb