Week 6 & my weekend travels!


Advertisement
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola amigos! ¿Como estas? (Hi friends, how are you?)

Its the beginning of week 6 for me here in Costa Rica! I cant believe it! I had a great relaxing weekend too!...

On Friday, I went to Alajuela after class and ate (again) at Jalapeaños, a delicious Tex Mex Restaurant. It is so tasty! Then I went with 3 other girls to the Ferria, it is a huge open air Farmers Market! It had more fresh fruits and vegetables than I have ever seen, super cheap! I bought a pineapple for $0.50 and a bag of carrots for $0.25! Yum! Then on Saturday, Lauren & I decided to go to Jaco (see all of my pictures!) which is a beach that is very popular because it is only 2 hours on the bus! It is more Americanized than many other places in CR which makes it not so popular by people who want to come see nature and the natural beaches. Although it was a perfect day for us! The water was pretty dirty so we didnt even go into the ocean, but it was so relaxing to sit by the beach, literally all day, in my chair. I
Another view of the beach!Another view of the beach!Another view of the beach!

These are few of the huge condos on the beach!
did finish a really good book that I had been wanting to finish and I listened to some music too! We left at 5:30 am on the bus and then we took the 5pm bus back home. It was a great day trip and the weather was perfect to get a tan! 😊

On Sunday, I tried to go see Mamma Mia the movie, but it was in Spanish, with NO subtitles in Spanish or in English. And yes I have gotten good at Spanish, but without subtitles sometimes it is very difficult. I was also very American and had lunch at Quiznos!! Yum!! And I had a midterm to work on for my other Society & Technology class so I actually had to do my homework on Sunday night!!

This week, I have my usual Spanish class everyday, but I am really looking foward to this weekend! All 18 of the students from North Central & our professor are going on a Global Nature Retreat this weekend. We are staying in cabin type houses in the mountains for the weekend and we are learning about nature and conservation of the environment. And we get to go to
the beach againthe beach againthe beach again

this beach was awesome! and only 2 hours on the bus!
the beach again on Sunday, which is awesome!!

Only 23 days, until my parents & brother come here! I hope they are getting excited because its the first time that they will be leaving the country! We are going to visit Arenal Volcano. It is an active volcano with real lava flowing from it at night! I cant wait to see them!!

I have been told also that I am not always very good at correct grammar on my blog here. (I will not name names, but this boy knows who he is 😊 Well, in my defense I am using a Spanish Keyboard and I dont know where the correct marks are always. And I dont have very long to type or review my writings, so yes I am becoming worse at English! ha ha!

Thanks again for everyones comments & messages!! Hope things are going well in the states!!

Love you all!
Courtney


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

our view, from my chairour view, from my chair
our view, from my chair

We even saw dolphins (well their fins)!!


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb