Kissing stingrays - Grand Cayman island


Advertisement
Published: March 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Kisssing stingraysKisssing stingraysKisssing stingrays

I am kissisng a stingray though it may look as if I am trying to blow it up.
We board the speedboat taking us out to the sandbank where the stingrays live and I can't help noticing the tense look on the faces of my fellow passengers. I know how they feel.

I am beginning to wonder if this was such a good idea. I am not a strong swimmer and the thought of being dumped in the sea several miles offshore from Grand Cayman to " play with stingrays" begins to fill me with dread.

Fears are groundless. This is one tourist attraction that the Cayman Islanders execute with perfection. Those of us of a nervous disposition or poor swimmers ( I tick both boxes) are issued with lifejackets and no we dont have to jump overboard. Ladders are lowered into the sea and yes within a few feet of leaving the boat we are all within our depth.

The photographer is there to capture the moment and we do get to play with stingrays, patting and stroking them between the eyes if they seem a bit agitated with all the handling. They love this and will close their eyes with leasure.

Within seconds we are surrounded by them, large slippery creatures bumping up
swimming with stingraysswimming with stingraysswimming with stingrays

Ann and Malcolm playing with stingrays off the Cayman Islands
against us. After the initial shock we all relax and enjoy the experience.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb