Merry, merry, merry!


Advertisement
Published: December 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Caybrew treeCaybrew treeCaybrew tree

My kind of tree
Yesterday was the Shellabration to end all...today, a nice relaxing (like there can be anything else down here?) day spent at the 'resort;.

I have to admit, most days, I am convinced that my son cannot see the hands at the ends of his own arms. But then there are those random shining moments when he comes through, and in a big way. Wednesday was one of Those Wonderful Days.

We started with a plan of action; find the bookstore (our favorite author lives here and occasionally signs copies of his latest releases that are sold down here off the rack); hit up the grocery to restock some simple things; and then head to the other side of the island, possibly to see the blowholes, the brewery, and maybe find starfish.

Well we didn't see find the bookstore on our first time through because there are two strip malls that are identical and we went into the first one and not the second. (Darn it all.)

But we did -- FINALLY -- find the brewery, and the blowholes...more on the other stuff in a minute.

The local bewery used to be Stingray, and we loved it the first time we came. Sadly they bellied up, and Caybrew took over. A bland, pale lager...good when cold and fresh, if one had spent the day mowing the lawn for example. Not to insult domestic beer lovers, but it's on a par with Bud or Coors...it's not really the same sort of craftbrewed yumminess we've become accustomed to living in Asheville. We've tried to find it many times, and never did figure out the simple issue that it's located on the 'old' main road and not the bypass we're used to travelling. Duh! So we found it, had a lovely beverage, and continued on.

The blowholes are another thing we'd tried to find before and missed. This time we had detailed directions...and scored a direct hit. I actually took the best pictures for a change....I must be getting better at that sort of thing. It's incredible although having seen the ones in Hawaii means I have a comparison. This one is still great though. I don't think it was formed the same way, I think this one is a hole through the iron shore/reef rock, whereas the ones in Hawaii are lava tubes.

Next we continued on
JackpotJackpotJackpot

Amazing discovery!
to see the timeshare condos we almost got stuck in...knock on wood, they are awful compared to what we're used to...beautiful and new, but out in the middle of NOWHERE. And that's saying something on this island.

I can't describe where Sam found the conch shells...but let me just assure you that he did an amazing job! He almost literally stumbled across thirteen of them. And they are BEAUTIFUL!

I spent hours...literally....cleaning these shells, both Wednesday and Thursday. I know more about conch than I ever thought I would, having done a lot of internet research in the last day to figure out if I could ever clean them up all the way. I had to soak them in bleach water and dig out gunk with a knife and scrub, scrub, scrub...but the reward is just incredible.

And then Mom and I stayed up far too late on Christmas eve...I am tired now, and hope to get lots of sleep...I'm posting this on Christmas night, and I still have today's report to write...maybe in the morning, while the laundry's going!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

What a difference cleaning makesWhat a difference cleaning makes
What a difference cleaning makes

The four stages of conch cleaning
SunsetSunset
Sunset

My son and my mother...what a nice way to finish the afternoon


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb