*Same ship different day. At least it began that way… Until I got a hickey on my toe. *


Advertisement
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Grand CaymanGrand CaymanGrand Cayman

Chris and I at Stingray City

Grand Cayman
Same ship different day. At least it began that way… Until I got a hickey on my toe.
The waters of the the Cayman Islands are the most beautiful I've ever seen. We booked a stingray excursion thru the ship but the night before we were scheduled to depart it was canceled. So we decided to look for one once we hit the island. After wading thru the usual duty free shops we walked on the waterfront area of George Town. That's when we saw the sign for Captain Marvin's. I had been told about Captain Marvin and his amazing tour of Stingray City from a co-worker but had somehow forgotten. We were able to walk up and book the excursion for a fraction of the price of the one thru the ship that was canceled. After booking our trip we had a couple of hours to kill so we took the bus to a dive shop called Divers Supply because my new mask had been leaking. This place was recommend by a local guy who we met on the street. The people at Divers Supply we so helpful and fixed my mask for no charge. Thank you
back rubback rubback rub

Getting my back tickled by a stingray
Divers Supply!!! After my mask was repaired we took the bus back down to the waterfront area not far form Captain Marvin's. We sill had almost an hour and 1/2 until our trip so we went into a little place called Hammerheads. I had the conch fritters and Chris had the red snapper. The food was great. No, that's not true. It was better than great. After lunch I walked to the back of the restaurant climbed down a ladder and tested out my mask in some of the clearest waters I've ever seen. I snorkeled out about 50-75 yards to a sunken ship. I was swimming with tarpon 4-6 feet long all around me. Fish were everywhere. I'm taking pictures as fast as I can when out of the blue comes a sea turtle! YES! A sea turtle. She swam close enough for me to touch. I was able to get a couple of quick shots off before she swam away into the blue.
After my brief swim with the tarpon and turtle I was ready for Captain Marvin's. Rasta guy picked us up and gave us the 10 cent tour of George Town to get to the boat. He was pretty funny. Captain Marvin is 94 years old and now doesn't captain his own boats much. But he came out to see us off. The boat ride was about 20 minutes out. Before we laid the anchor the Stingrays were everywhere. Giant 3-5 foot rays. Pool is open Mon! So off we go into the water with the giants swimming all around us. The water was only about 3-4 feet deep. The they began swimming up to us, brushing up against us, swimming between our legs. Then the crew gave us some squid and it got really crazy. They were all over us. Climbing up your legs on your shoulders on your back. If I live to be 100 this will go down as the coolest day ever in the history of days.
Then we snorkeled about a mile away on a reef, Again, the water was clear and the guides helpful but unobtrusive. More rays, puffer fish, blue fish and red fish. Again, an experience of a lifetime. Thank you so much to all the crew for an unbelievable time. Thank to you to all of the people in the Grand Caymans that are so friendly and helpful. A place I want to come back to as often as I can afford. Best day of my vacation.

Advertisement



18th December 2010

WOW!!!!
How wonderful that you are having such a great time! Never been to the Grand Caymans, but sounds like a neat place! You are truly an adventurer! Must be kin to John Haynie, Jr.! LOL Can't wait to see the pics!
18th December 2010

Can't wait to see pictures. You all have had a great trip it sounds like.

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb