Week 5...and stuff


Advertisement
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What has happened since I last wrote? .....

Let's see, last week I did a mix of labor in the garden with the volunteers and personal project work in the office. I am working on building the foundation of a community/family garden plot in the Botanical Garden. I would really like to find a way to educate and excite the children of Statia with educational gardening. Furthermore, I would like the energy to continue at home by creating a place for parents to come and grow and learn. Right now, it seems like no one is using there gardens for edible foods even though the soil is rich and the weather ideal. After noticing this, I started asking around and some of the reasons mentioned were: water is too precious, roaming animals destroy anything without expensive covering, they are lazy/don't know what to do. From everything I have learned while working with Arden Bucklin at the San Francisco Green Schoolyard Alliance, and Abby Jaramillo at Urban Sprouts, I felt like the natural thing to do is create a space accessible, free and easy to utilize. I am now working on the logistics for the project. Please keep your fingers crossed because many people here think it will be impossible to get parents involved here.

I took the junior rangers snorkeling, worked on tompi hill trail, and had pina coladas at the Golden Era. Life here is hard but very rewarding!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



17th June 2009

Poser!
I love that you are totally posing in the picture about snorkeling. Good luck with the garden. It takes patience. I tried it and found out that I don't actually have patience.
29th June 2009

great idea
so cool about the family garden idea!! i'm sure you can make it happen! isn't it amazing in a new place finding out what edible crops people MIGHT use in their home gardens?? what is typical around there?

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb