20130805 End of Bonaire.


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

For first time in a long time I was actually glad that the trip was coming to an end. My ear was hurting and my head was hurting in every dive. I felt like catching a cold but didn’t skip any dive. I couldn’t concentrate underwater with a headache. The last subject that I actually pulled tru my pain and tried to photograph was a blenny that lives under the private dock north of Something Special. This guy was a very special one because it lives inside orange cup soft coral that makes a colorful background. I didn’t have an amazing photo trip but it was nice to go somewhere. We chose to dive the same location over an over so we could go back to specific subjects and watch their behaviour. It was also nice to meet Ellen Muller, a wonderful and dedicated photographer that lives in the island and takes total advantage of the photo opportunities her surroundings have to offer. She dives every night before the sun goes down and does a long dive searching for action happening. Her work is beautifully compiled in the galleries on her website. http://http://www.pbase.com/imagine We wished we had seen some of the critters Ellen has photographed in the past but we know that her work is the result of long nights out on the reef searching, sitting and observing. Here is what we didn’t see: Mating Red Cling fish with eggs, gaudi crabs, mating colorful gobies, mating redlip blennies, circular bumble shrimp and of course octo with eggs. I included Ellen’s images to link Bonaire to critters to look for while diving there. We photographed other critters and I will upload as I get to them. As always I just wanted to post a quick blog for the end of this trip. We spent our last dry day chasing Pink Flamingos at sunset. Steve got to see them take off flying. Also we visited the lighthouse at the end of the island and found a wonderful location to do some photo experiments with star trail photography when if we come back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb