A Weekday Weekend


Advertisement
Published: August 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I didn’t have to be at school until Friday this week, so I took advantage of my guaranteed time off to go to Placencia from Tuesday to Thursday! Placencia is a little ways north of PG, via bus then water taxi. It was great trip!

I took the express bus from PG at 6am, and I was lucky! It was a greyhound style bus, not the little school bus, so it had A/C! It continues to blow my mind how inexpensive public transport is south of the States – just BZ $11 (about CAD$ 5.50) for an hour an a half bus trip, it was $2 more because it was the express. I splurged so I could just go straight there rather than stopping all the time. Once you arrive in Independence, the water taxi is just a short 15 minute ride to Placencia, on the cutely named “Hokey Pokey Water Taxi.”

I followed Alix’s suggestion and stayed at a Rotarian’s guest house, and was the only one there! Definitely low season – I only saw a handful of tourists the whole time I was there!

Placencia is a low key, beachy town so I did exactly what you’re supposed to:

Layed on the beach (and got sunburnt of course)
Went swimming
And went kayaking

I also did a ton of reading under a palm tree, lots of walking around town, a bit of avoiding a cat at the guest house, went to a Rotary meeting, and chatted over a beer with an American Expat hotel owner and a lady who had tried to sell me Jerk Chicken earlier in the day.

It was a really nice trip – had a chance to see some surroundings on the bus trip (holy rainforest!) and got to see some new scenery in Placencia and do some vacation type things I haven’t had a chance to do in PG! Nice end of summer trip, as I met my teacher mentor today and officially got started prepping for school!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb