Belize - Day 1: Miami and BZE


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

V & I headed off to Belize, where we hoped to do some great snorkeling and play in lush jungle surroundings. Without an agenda or reservations, we prepared to pseudo-backpack in search of beach, fish, and tropical forest. We found that and mosquitoes...shoulda brought DEET and left the citronella oil at home.

It was the first time I had been to Miami, and fortunately, our layover was 5 hours. V rented a car and took me around his stomping grounds. I don't know how he studied through medical school with the beach yards away and the sunset gracing the backdrop of his condo. I still think the West coast is the best coast...humidity does not fare well with me.

We arrived at BZE and were picked up by my coworker's family. They graciously took us to the Marine Terminal, a 20-minute drive from the airport. Driving through the city reminded me of cities like Tijuana, where dirt roads alternatively meet paved ones, the majority of homes and buildings are covered with fainting painted wood, and random dogs are seen roaming the street.

At the Marine Terminal, we paid $15USD for the both of us to go to Caye Caulker, where we planned to snorkel along the 2nd largest barrier reef (next to Australia's). It was a 45 minute water taxi ride. We landed and ventured to find a place to stay. Morning Star had vacancy, and we found it simple, clean, and affordable at $40/day. I said we were pseudo-backpacking, right?! 😊 V wanted to hostel it the whole time, but I preferred somewhere with a/c, a clean toilet, and privacy with our belongings. If it helps, we had large ants in our bathroom!

Day 1 was spent walking around the island and trying grilled shrimp skewers, conch ceviche, and swimming in the water with the kids.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

cuban sandwichcuban sandwich
cuban sandwich

stopped by a local miami cuban deli for a quick bite
Morning StarMorning Star
Morning Star

Our lovely abode at Morning Star, owned by a Canadian couple. We paid $40/night.
Should I join?Should I join?
Should I join?

Watching kids jump off. We soon join in the swim.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb