Day 4 - Caye Caulker


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 4

Today turned out to be a bit of a chill day on the beautiful island of Caye Caulker, I spent the morning walking round the island.<span> A couple of years ago the 1 island became 2 islands when a hurricane ripped through it and cleared a path through part of it.<span> The waves then rushed in and the current running through this section is so strong that it probably won’t join up again.<span> But the good thing is that this area known as the split is a great place to snorkel and I did this today amongst the mangroves.<span> The island is now only about 1 km long and in its widest point less than <span> ½ km wide.<span> What I like about it is the sandy streets and that there are no cars.<span> However there is a proliferation of golf carts and considering the size of the island I can’t understand why.<span> I’ve even seen people taking their dogs for a walk on them – what’s all that about???

Food wise if you like seafood you will be in heaven here, most food consist of barbecuing lobsters, shrimps fish etc no good to me of course all I get is salad in a barmcake:-)

Outside the hotel is Fran’s BBQ and she scares the bejesus out of me as she’s always shouting at someone,<span> I always have to quicken my pace as I walk past her in case she asks why I’m tempted by her food:-)

In the night I had a few beers with some Canadians from Saskachewan - probably spelt this wrong!.

PS the local beer - Belikin is rubbish and fairly expensive considering this fact!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb