Last day on Caye Caulker


Advertisement
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I invited Elvis to join me on Caye Caulker for my last day if he didn't have any tours to run. Elvis has lived an amazing life, and I felt very lucky to spend another day with him. He has a great entrepreneurial spirit, and full of ideas. I definitely think there is a market on C.C. for beach chairs, and after asking a few women, we all agreed it would be a money maker....hmmm....possible future endeavour???

Our agenda for the day was doing my laundry and having a lobster burger at Marin's. Elvis had run many tours around the island out to the reef, but had never actually set foot on the island. Now I was HIS guide! Elvis thought it was great that you could see the ocean on both sides, standing dead centre of the island. It is that small! We walked down to the other side after dropping off my laundry, and passed the Crystal Water/Belikin distributor. It wasn't long and we were doing the math. So we bought a case (24), as I knew that I could sell cold beer (at cost) to my american young neighbours that had pulled in that morning. Why pay $4-$5 BZ per beer, when you can drink it for $2.03/bottle! Makes sense to me! We thru them in my fridge to chill, and as Elvis' tour guide, I took him to The Split for a swim, then to Marin's for a lobster burger. I also wanted him to decipher some hanging signs for me there. Truly a language like no other!

During our meanderings around town, I introduced him to Harry and Steve (snorkel tour guides), and it was quite amusing to me to hear them talk Creole/Rasta amongst themselves. They switch dialects faster than the Asian at the Grocery Store takes your money!

While sipping a cold beer back at The Trends Hotel, we met Jeff & Brenda and all went out for BBQ Chicken w/rice & beans. I was so stuffed! Jeff and Brenda are going to Placencia as well, so we exchanged info. I now have 4 people to look up when I get to Placencia (Dec 19).

We called it a night, after selling our leftover beer to my neighbours....gotta love it when a plan comes together...it was a win/win!

Needless to say, I am loving Belize!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb