1st day in Caye Caulker


Advertisement
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Caye Caulker is totally laid back and just what I needed after busy Belize City, where the sidewalks are narrow, ditto for the streets, and things are happening around you so fast that my brain couldn't keep up with the sounds, people, smells, & scenery all at once...talk about multi-tasking!

I dashed back to my hotel in Belize City to quickly pack after my last blog. Simon and I maneuvered the nutso Swing Bridge intersection. The Swing Bridge was built in 1923, and the only operational hand cranked bridge (I think in the world), this happens so that the taller boats can go thru the canal.

By the time I got to the Water Taxi Terminal to take me here I was totally soaked, and promptly sat down in front of a fan so big, I thought it would blow me back into Mexico! I am surprised that anyone sat beside me on the water taxi as I had foregone a shower that morning (shared bath, and the shower heads appeared to be installed for Mayans - maybe 4' 6" up from the floor!)

Off we sped to beautiful Caye Caulker...sand streets, and no cars on the island! I was to meet Emily at the Trends Hotel, which I had booked, but she decided to split it with me. I had met E (31, ER doctor from Manhattan, but works in Brooklyn) earlier in the week during our Lamanai Tour. She was a couple of hours behind me as she was coming from San Pedro (Ambergris Caye). Upon check in I was given the one and only Cabana, as opposed to the room that I had booked, and for the same price (sweet!!). Comes complete with a deck, hammock, fridge and we can see the water taxi terminal from the deck. Simon was content to have his wheels hit the soft, packed sand after the pothole ridden streets of Belize!

By the time E arrived, I felt like a new woman (a shower and donning a swimsuit will do that!), and was just being lazy in the hammock. I hadn't been on a beach since Dec 3, so I totally welcomed being right on the beach, which the Trends is.

Everyone goes down to "The Split" here to watch the sunset. Caye Caulker is actually 2 islands, which was split by a hurricane. There is an outside bar (gee, go figure) at The Split, with a veranda. Wouldn't you know it, the first "white" guy who talks to me is from, no other than Edmonton. Isla Mujeres was smaller, but the world is indeed getting smaller!

We were soon hooked up with Big Steve, who runs snorkelling tours, who just happened to be downstairs, so we booked our tour over a 2 for 1 happy drink for tomorrow. E & I are totally pumped about it. 3 different locations, snorkelling with sharks at one of them. We make a good team, E & I, as we are both non-swimmers & a little freaked about it, yet in for the adventure! I think we will be making Big Steve earn his money!...lol

So here I sit, on my porch, the breeze blowing in off the ocean, writing, then down to the cafe to blog. I am de-compressing very quickly on this heavenly little isle. E wants to hit the only reggae bar here (that I don't understand cause raggae has playing in the distant wind since I got here), but I am game, but only for a bit.

I had a burger earlier, so I am full & content, and would be quite happy staying in. Emily is only here for 2 nights, so I am thinking I am going to definitely join her.

A ship is safe in harbour, but that's not what ships are for!

Wish me luck everyone, with snorkelling!!!

Bonne Nuit!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb