Paradise Islands of Belize


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Amy's fish!! 17 secs
Woody's wharfWoody's wharfWoody's wharf

Jumping off our private dock!
Sorry for the delay in getting our next blog to you... we had a little electricity problem, as in none on the whole island all afternoon, but here you go - barely a week has gone by and so much to say!! Firstly, thanks to everyone for your messages - we really couldn't believe it when we saw all your comments and we loved them all - keep them coming - it makes us feel like you're all here with us! And fun to think that everyone is following us on our trip (Luke - I will be testing you on the geography of our trip at the wedding, so I hope you're taking notes!)

Since our last internet cafe visit, we spent another few nights on Ambergris Caye and fell in love with the island, and our gorgeous little hotel. Deciding that Scuba Diving was a bit extravagent on our budget we went for the snorkelling option and were not disappointed. We got a boat to Shark Ray Alley (and unsuprisingly swam with sharks and stingrays!! - weirdly I lost all sense of (Jaws-esque) sanity as the instructor scooped a nurse shark off the bottom of the ocean an encouraged me to hold it in my arms - which I did!! Albert got so far as poking it with his index finger before thinking that was probably enough, but honestly snorkelling the second largest barrier reef in the world was the best experience of our lives (well Albert has another to come but I'll get to that...)

The rest of the week was spent lounging on the docks and swimming in the sea - but we finally decided we should probably move on to somewhere new and reluctantly left Woody's Wharf for Caye Caulker - a nearby Island - similar but much smaller than San Pedro. We arrived yesterday, and aren't staying in quite the same luxury - (I guess we should get used to it) Although fearing cold showers, unfortunately Mara's Place has no cold water - so scorching showers are our only option!

Have you ever watched ESPN or the fishing channel and have seen guys fly fishing in never ending crystal clear water that came up to their knees? Well, today was my highlight (Albert) - we decided to splash out on a fly-fishing tour around the island - something I have always wanted
RaffiRaffiRaffi

Seahorsey!
to do.. Amy stayed sun bathing on the front of the boat as I waded into the flats learning to fly-fish. It was pretty difficult as I imagined it would be but I caught a bone fish after a couple of hours practicing my casting (which was the hardest part) After the bone fish stopped biting we went after the barracuda and Amy caught a nice one while trolling! Our captain Charlie told us his wife would cook it for us, and he'd bring it over to our hotel for dinner. Sure enough, an hour after returning to dry land, 'Amy's' barracuda arrived with rice and beans cooked to perfection!

We're off to Guatemala tomorrow to visit Tikal so will update you further when we've checked out the Mayan ruins. Also, we've uploaded our itinerary so if any of you have been to any of the places we're going and have some tips/suggestions, we'd love to hear them!

So much love to everyone
We miss you all (well...a little!!)
A and A xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Waters of San PedroWaters of San Pedro
Waters of San Pedro

....and free rum punch
Nurse Sharks in the waterNurse Sharks in the water
Nurse Sharks in the water

...Duh - D ...Duh - D {Jaws theme song}
Sharks!Sharks!
Sharks!

Amy's...AKA...Banana girls Reaction
View from Corona Del MareView from Corona Del Mare
View from Corona Del Mare

View from our sea view room - ahhh... paradise...
WindsurfingWindsurfing
Windsurfing

I think they gave me a "special board"... cause i sucked
Caye CaulkerCaye Caulker
Caye Caulker

Tiny Island....with a few golf carts and beautiful views. Really raw and undiscovered. Mostly back packers and people chilling....reminded me of the sixties..
The SplitThe Split
The Split

A huge hurricane split the island in 1967...
Before...Before...
Before...

Amy catches a fish!!
...And after...And after
...And after

We ate the Barracuda we caught!
In honour of my nan...In honour of my nan...
In honour of my nan...

Syd's restaurant on Syd's (my nan's) birthday !!! Love you so much nan - wish you better xxx


18th August 2008

Amy, you got mad at me for throwing two pigeon eggs off my air condition air, but you stand there in glee while a poor barracuda is being murdered!
18th August 2008

we cant accept your other one!! What woudl Zoya say!!!xx we love you titi xx
18th August 2008

wow! Looks amazing! Albert I really love the pic of you windsurfing. Amy, great job on catching the fish!!
18th August 2008

You both look amazing!
Hi you two. This blog is amazing. It's so great to receive this. You both look as though you're having an incredible time. It looks an amazing place. The photos are so good. You both look so lovely and relaxed and tanned. Love you both so much. Take care and keep safe. Mum (and Dad, Jonathan and Anna) xxxxxxx
18th August 2008

Paradise Found
What an amazing trip you are having, as we are all stuck here in the pouring rain. I felt a bit sorry for your fish, especially as the cooked one they brought around for your tea was probably from Tesco. Nan was looking much better last week, hopefully she will be home soon. Take good care of each other, remember there is a very important event taking place in May, and some excited guests waiting to see you home safe and sound. love Jenni xx
18th August 2008

Banana Girl Screams
Oh my goodness, what a total girly you are Amy !!!!! You both look like you are having a fantastic time, I am Soooo jealous !!!! Glad to see you have taken the "yellow bikini" Hee Hee. Luke is out for the day enjoying the British Summer Weather of cold wind and rain - but when he returns I will show him your latest message !!!! Keep safe and happy ! Mother of the R.B xxx
18th August 2008

Luke says.......
Hi Amy I wish I was diving in the sea with you like in Spain, luv Luke
21st August 2008

Oh my goodness...you are having an amazing time. I love the pictures. Amy you are brave with the fish. How could you guys eat the barracuda? Ewwwww.... Keep the pictures coming. I am loving them.
23rd August 2008

Miss you!
Hey Luke! Spain was so much fun - I think you would have loved the sea in Belize - fish swim around your feet as you paddle...crazy!! Love from Guatemala!x
23rd August 2008

Tesco´s....hahaha...
Hi Jenni, Hope the weather has picked up back home. Wish I could make you feel better by saying the weather was terrible here, but since we arrived in Antigua, even the humidity has gone, so it´s just about perfect!! Loving the messages from you, Jane and Luke- dont worry, we are looking after each other and will return for THE event of 2009!! haha, big love xx
28th August 2008

Onis!
Its nice to have my mentor (and friend) following us along on our journey. You were there when it all started so its only right isnt it! I hope youre doing well and hopefully we can meet at some point when we get back! It would be nice to see you... Albert
28th August 2008

Hello!
Hey Amy Baby and Alby-baby! Sorry we've taken so long to blog you, you know how lame we both are - we're such techno-phobes!!! It looks like you're having a fabulous time! I love the photographs of you both jumping off the pier in Belize - that sea looks incredible! Makes life back here seem so boring!!! The volcano trail sounds scary, but Jon was so excited when I told him about the rock you got him and the snaps you've taken for him. Your nanny sends her love - I saw her yesterday and told her I was going to blog you and she said I must send you her love - so here it is - Mmmwahh! Miss you both to bits. Keep us up to date on your adventures and promise to do better with the blogging (is that a word??? - its not as hard as I thought'd be!!!) Love to Alby too xxxxxx Don't kiss alby from me cos that's gross, boys kissing, yeah it's me talking now! Looks amazing and i'm jelaous of the volcanoes, i was talking about volcanoes with nanny and papa today and papa called nanny his little volcano - ah how sweet. Mum and dad are in scotland. Can't say much else about that really. The big news here is that there's a camel spider on the loose in Colchester killing dogs, and Gary Glitter is back the paedo. He's shaved off his beard but the Sun newspaper's found him. Ha ha the paedo. bye x oh yeah, anna says i have to say lots of love and miss you loads too, so bye again xx

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb