DAY TEN


Advertisement
Published: March 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Aruba

Today’s plans were all about party and fish. Bill, Diana and I took the local bus out to the hotel strip and boarded the Jolly Pirate Ship. The bar opened as soon as we sailed. The passengers were mostly younger and from the hotels. We were the only group from the Noordam and there were a few Princess folks with us.

Our first snorkel spot was over the wreck of a German freighter from WWII. We arrived at the site along with a large catamaran and I watched as dozens of folks drifted into each other. Definitely not my idea of fun so I enjoyed the show the birds put on. Someone was dropping food in the water and the birds dove down to get a bite. I felt a bit sorry for the snorkelers under the flock. Well, I heard bird poop is good luck.

Then we were off to a spot nearer the shore. I grabbed by camera and gear and jumped in. While putting on my gloves, I managed to drop the camera. One of the staff was able to find it. Thank you! The bottom here was rocky and sandy. Bill found a spot with lots of fish and I stationed myself there for a while. I have gone from trying to spot every fish in the water to watching the behavior at one spot. Observed lots of fish fights. Not sure if there were over territory, mates or food or all three. One wrasse followed a spotlight parrotfish around trying to get a meal. The parrotfish would try to get away, I guess he thought he was clean enough, and the little wrasse would follow at a discrete distance and then launch a sneak attack. This happened again and again. Felt a little sorry for the parrotfish.

The water was exceptionally clear and within minutes I spotted my find of the day and large filefish. It was just floating there and every now and again he would give me a great camera opportunity. Soon after a couple of large puffers wandered into range and I snapped shot after shot. This is really just point and shoot as the viewer is useless under water in this underwater camera. Too bad, so sad, this is where my “memory card is full” message flashed. No file fish, no puffers. Guess I'll just have to try again.

Our third sight was even closer to shore and we snorkeled along the rocks. The life was abundant and corals and algae provided food and protection for a variety of small fish. All too soon we heard the ship’s horn announcing lunch.
Some folks continued to snorkel but I was a bit hungry and I’m so glad I decided to eat. We were served a plate of Spanish rice, barbecued chicken and ribs, salad and melon. Everything was delicious. Since I wasn’t going into the water again I tried the Pirates Poison, actually rum punch.

After lunch the younger folks tried their hand at swinging out from the ship on a trapeze and dropping into the water. Some would drop like a stone, belly flop or butt drop. One young beauty was obviously a diver and she really put on a show.

Actually she was part of the show. A crew from Columbia was shooting a segment or commercial all about the Jolly Pirates. Some of the guests were invited to be in some shots, mainly the young and fit. The crew was interviewed and then the music cranked up and the dancing started. One of the real buff guy dragged all the women, me included on the dance floor. He must have been part Tahitian cause he could sure dance. He told the guys not to worry cause he was gay. Soon he was the center of a real dance party. It was all in good fun and despite the open bar for four hours only one person got drunk. That was the videographer. He could hardly make it off the boat with assistance.

This was a great combination of snorkeling and partying. Back on board I played a few hands of poker, took a dip and napped until it was time for dinner.

I joined DiDi, Cathy, Jim and Tony for dinner. They are from Indiana and I met the women in the pool early in the trip. We enjoyed drinks in the Pinnacle Bar and were seated at a great table at the stern. We enjoyed lots of laughs and giggles. They were easy to talk to enjoyed life. I’m grateful they invited me to join the table.

Checked out the Piano Bar but it was standing room only. Instead I sat in for a few hands and then headed to bed.
Now we’re looking forward to two sea days.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb