Little England


Advertisement
Asia
May 11th 2014
Published: May 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So we arrived at our new location mid afternoon and checked in and used the wifi - I'm an addict to wifi now, it's my only contact with the outside world lol,



It's a lovely little hotel,with a garden which reminds me of mine back in the UK. They have cosmos, buzzy lizzies, penstemon, roses, daisies and other lovely british flowers. The climate here is much cooler and it's known as little England. They grow a lot of veggies here including beet root, cabbage, carrots, spuds and leeks.



We went up to the local town for a wander around. We saw a small Buddhist temple parade with boys dressed in white on bikes cycling around with their bikes decorated in what can only be described as umbrella spokes at thatched to the handle bars or the back covered in brightly coloured paper. Ahead of them was a van with a guy and a loud hauler. Following the boys on bikes were 4 guys dressed up in traditional costume drumming and one was playing the same instrument as a snake charmer would use. It was closely followed by a van decorated in flowers and it also had an image of Buddha on the back. The was followed by a procession of people. My understanding was that it was to raise awareness of its sister temple and was raising funds for it.

Also when wandering round the shops they had fleeces, hats, scarves and ear muffs for sale as it 'gets cold' there. I was wandering round in a short sleeved t shirt whilst the locals were wrapped up against the cold lol. It was at least 22 degrees. No AC in my hotel,room but instead a fan heater to keep me warm lol.

Lala went to see a friend who just happens to run a jewellery store and I ended up buying a small pendant for £50. It's a natural star ruby in pink just need to get a chain for it when I get back to the UK.

I also bought a small bag so I don't have to haul my ruck sack around and I don't have to cram everything in my camera case.



We had a wander round the market, dried and fresh fish, lots of fruit and veggie stalls, meat, rice, pulses and herbs and spices all on sale. Lala bought the red bananas I mentioned in a previous blog. They tasted nice, not as banananery as the ones we have and were more yellowy and had a slightly different texture, and less sweet and still very nice.



Afterwards we visited a local church but couldn't go inside as it was closed. He wanted to show me the church organ which is the origins, one from 1852. We had a look,at some if the headstones. Sadly there were lots of children, and people dying at an early sarge due to malaria, as dusk was settling in we headed back to the hotel. We passed a local horse race course which is stilled used on the odd occasion. Also the golf course and governors residence both complete with beautiful gardens and colonial looking buildings.

It's a very beautiful part of Sri Lanka and does look a little like England in places with a cooler more temperate climate.

I had an early morning start the next day (today) as we were off to the national park for a hike.



Story be continued ...............



Xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb