UK troubles


Advertisement
Asia
January 17th 2012
Published: January 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

17/01/12 - UK - There maybe trouble ahead.

Arrived at Heathrow airport eager to get started on my almighty adventure. Time to check in. The queue was short and I joined at gate G, Bobby is on a different flight so he headed to gate F. I reached the check in desk and loaded on my bag. After the usual questions and checks the assistant had a concerned look on her face and proceeded to make a phonecall which was never answered, she informed me that my flight was full and i would have to fly tomorrow at the same time. What a start! British Airways did soften the blow by giving me a hotel room for the night with transport and 3 meals (worth over £200) as well as £500 cash for my troubles, ker-ching.

So i will continue my journey alone tomorrow and meet Bobby in Bangkok. Just 3 hours after I arrive we will be jumping on an over night train for 13 hours. Me thinks I shall be stinking more than the elephants we are going to see.

I checked into my 4* hotel and had some dinner... well a little more than some. It was a buffet and I had to try everything. So after soup and 2 main courses I just had to try dessert... all 3 of them. It's a good job i'm likely to have diarrhea for the next 3 months after eating all that.

18/01/12 - UK - 2nd time lucky

After a lazy morning I gorged myself on a sumptuous breakfast then asked the concierge where the nearest bank was to pay in my new found riches. I took the bus to West Drayton which wasn't the classiest of towns but managed to pay in my money and walk through an isolated park without getting mugged or murdered - result!

Another enormous meal and it's time to hang around before heading to the airport once again.

Bobby emailed me to say he's been having fun being driven around Bangkok in a tuk tuk and has sorted out the overnight train for the next part of our journey, managing to buy the last 2 tickets. He's good he is.

Back on the bus to the airport and time to check in. I must admit that I did hold my breath as the assistant said he had to make a call. While he was on the phone the passenger next to me was asked if she would like to volunteer to stay off the plane for the second day running, my heart sank. My guy finished his phone call, handed me my passport and boarding pass and told me to have a pleasant flight. Phew!

Wandered around the airport till it was time to hop on the plane. Thailand here I come.

Advertisement



26th January 2012

UK troubles
Let's hope that you got all the problems out of the way before leaving the country. Have a wonderful time. If you can't be good, be careful! Mum XXX

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb