Wat Ratchanadda and the Giant Swing


Advertisement
Asia
June 19th 2011
Published: June 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Following my visit to the Golden Mount, I still had plenty of daylight left, surprisingly it doesn’t get dark until quite late, it’s almost as if it’s a European summer. So, from the Golden Mount I made my way down the road with no real direction in mind, I knew there were a few nice places in the area because I’d seen the needle-tipped points of wats from the street as I was walking. As you walk down the street you’ll find yourself on the main road at a large junction, behind you, you have the Golden Mount and in front there’s a monument of King Rama III, Som Dej Phra Nag Klao, which stands in a nice little square in front of Wat Ratchanadda, which stands out from others because of its black roof and multi-tiered structure.
The temple was either being renovated or repaired and there was scaffolding along one side but as a result, was completely empty, aside form a few sleepy looking laborers who lazily looked up as I walked past. I got the impression I wasn’t really meant to be there but also that no one really cared to tell me so I wandered around at
Wat RatchanaddaWat RatchanaddaWat Ratchanadda

You can clearly see the tiered architecture of the wat and its black roof.
my own leisure. I couldn’t go in unfortunately but the outside was beautiful enough. The Wat was built in 1846 and covers and area of 25 rai, which converts to roughly 0.04 square km. Ratchanadda has somewhat of a gothic feel to it, reminiscent of a castle you may find in Europe with its many spires.
Have you ever walked to get lost? I did. I knew roughly where I was and that was too much, so what did I do? I found the narrowest alley, running parallel to the narrowest aqueduct, and walked down it, only to come out bang in front of the Giant Swing, or Sao Ching Cha, which is in the center of a busy street. I’d seen the Swing from taxis to and from the office and I’d actually not heard of it before, or not to my recollection at least. It looks as though it should be somewhere in Japan or China and seemed oddly out of place, impressive though it was.
The Swing wasn’t always where it is today, it was moved to its current location in 1920 to make room for a gas plant, which I wont write about because lets face
Ratchanadda and the Golden MountRatchanadda and the Golden MountRatchanadda and the Golden Mount

The summit of the Golden Mount in the background of Wat Ratchanadda
it, who wants to hear about a gas plant. The Swing isn’t just a pretty construct though, it was initially used in one of the 12 royal ceremonies, which are held in each of the 12 months of the Thai lunar calendar to bring in the Brahmin new year, the ceremony lasted for 10 days and was a re-enactment of an ancient Hindu tale of how Brahma and Shiva first created and cared for the Earth. The ceremony was also to thank Shiva for a bountiful rice harvest and pray for the god’s blessing in the next.
The thought of people swinging from it is outlandish and the ceremony was actually discontinued in 1932 due to injuries and deaths, which I cant say surprises me, although I’m sure that it must have been awesome to swing from, provided you weren’t one of the unlucky ones.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Spires at RatchanaddaSpires at Ratchanadda
Spires at Ratchanadda

The beautifully carved spires of Wat Ratchanadda
The Giant SwingThe Giant Swing
The Giant Swing

The pillars of the swing are symbolic of the mountains of the earth. The round base is symbolic of the Naga, or giant serpents, which wrapped themselves around the mountains when Brahma created the earth to hold the earth in place
Near the memorialNear the memorial
Near the memorial

I'm not sure what this building is, it is right next to the memorial and was closed off when I was there.
Crafted roofCrafted roof
Crafted roof

The Thai buildings have beautifully crafted roofs with great attention to detail
Another roofAnother roof
Another roof

This wasn't even a temple, just a regular building but the roof was so well crafted that I just had to stop for a photo


19th June 2011

Love it Tarks, I've never seen this side of Bangkok!!
20th June 2011

Both
Cool Tarks ..... always enjoy reading your words! hugs n love xxxx

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb