THE CROC REPORT #2


Advertisement
Asia
October 20th 2010
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Out with old and in with newOut with old and in with newOut with old and in with new

Here are the original Crocs after 8 months of heavy use in India - next to the new Indian copies.
For those very keen readers of my blog (you know which two people you are!), you will remember “The Croc Report #1” where I reported how my ‘nearly new’ Crocs (as at Feb 3rd 2010) had faired after 7 weeks of constant use in India. I know you have both been waiting with great anticipation for this second report. Well - your dream has now come true!

It is now a full 8 months that I have been almost constantly wearing those Crocs in India (this means as my only pair of shoes used every day) - all except the 4 weeks when I was riding my Royal Enfield to Leh and back through Spiti Valley (see other blogs) - when I decided that it might be prudent to wear covered boots (albeit that I did pack the crocs for 'down time' on that trip!).

To cut to the chase - it is time to retire the said Crocs - as the attached picture will show (compared to the state of the Crocs back in late March), they have become a danger to life and limb. The tread has now all gone - and last week in Varanasi during
Croc report 1 - 7 weeks in IndiaCroc report 1 - 7 weeks in IndiaCroc report 1 - 7 weeks in India

Just to recap - here are the said crocs at the end of March 2010 - still with reasonable tread.
some unseasonable rain, I actually slipped in some cowshit and fell! Not the first slip - but the first actual fall so….. time to face reality and retire said Crocs, I am afraid to say. What to do?

I have therefore invested in some new Croc-imitations made in India. However as much as I did try I could NOT find red or orange ones and had to settle (as you can see) for black. Could just not come at blue or pale yellow!

This of course means I will stop getting the special attention I was getting with my bright red Crocs! AND…. I lose my Bagwan colour coordination down at my feet to boot (mind the pun!).

I still will attest though, to the overall comfort of the Crocs - and will now test the Indian version!

Mind you - the Crocs which usually cost Aust $50 (Rs 2,000) but which I got on special for Aust $20 (Rs 800) cost a princely Rs 150 (less than Aust $4) here in India.

End of second report (and last report on the Crocs!)


Advertisement



20th October 2010

NO MORE CROC REPORTS?????
What do you mean no more croc reports - surely those new ones need some claim to fame for the longevity 'down the Indian track'. Hugs Marguerite
22nd October 2010

red
I agree there is something very special about red shoes. Just as red motorbikes go faster (Michael just got his first speeding ticket on the Nullabor), red shoes are warmer in winter and happier in any season. My red Kumfs are doing their last summer. There is still sufficient tread, but the leather tops have stretched so they now threaten to tip me out with a twisted ankle. Unfortunately I can't replace them because they sell out each year to make room for new styles. They've also changed their name to Ziera, presumably to disguise the fact they are made in New Zealand, and are making sillier styles.
22nd October 2010

I just don't get it ...
what is this attraction to crocs? How can they possibly be comfortable, especially in the heat? And what about the fashion sense (or lack thereof) of wearing them? All the big questions remained unanswered... Rosie

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.121s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb