Cow dung anyone?


Advertisement
Asia
April 11th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Left Jaipur for the long drive to Ranthambhore in search of the elusive tiger. Along the way we stopped at a pottery workshop where I was able to have a go. It was very hard work and I managed to make a very small bowl with lots of support. I was then left covered in clay until they brought me a milking bucket full of water so I could wash my hands!

The second stop was a real highlight of the trip. We visited a cooperative where they make products from cow dung and distilled cow urine! It was very funny. We were shown where they collect the dung, dry it out, and then mix it up with water to make a paste (using their hands) and then push the poo into a mould to make incense burners. Apparently it has antibacterial properties. I have bought a box for the classroom to show the children! They also collect the urine and make into tablets of liquid form again to help with health problems. I managed to resist buying any of this!

Continuing our drive we were about 30km from Ranthambhore when our bus broke down. It was sooo hot. We were stuck for about 30/40 minutes and then had to proceed without air conditioning. During that time all the children from the local village arrived to point and laugh at us but I did enjoy having a conversation with one of the children who wanted to know how many children I had. when I said 22 he looked slightly confused!

When we finally arrived it was a very disappointing game drive. Far to hot to see the tiger, in fact much at all apart from some monkeys. a mongoose, peacocks, and a few different birds oh and or course deer. Maybe tomorrow we will have more luck with an early morning game drive. I did get out and put my little stuffed tiger on some rocks so everyone could take a picture. Frustratingly I also spoke to a gentleman who showed me a picture of the one he had seen that monring so they do exist!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb