We are not in Kansas anymore TOTO


Advertisement
Asia
April 11th 2010
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody, I made it to Chennai finally! Trip from Vancouver was a bit eventfull. 12 hours into a 14 hour flight the dreaded words were spoken over the intercom "is there a doctor on board?" Turns out someone was seriously ill and they ahd to turn the plane around and land in Tiapai to allow her to get medical attention. I talked with the doctor who helped and she says she will be ok. Because of this I arrived late in Hong Kong and missed my flight to India. That is the bad news.

The good news is the airline put me up in a 5 star hotel with everything paid for (except booze) Unreal food. For those of you who know my history it will not come as a suprise that I ate kangaroo tail and loin, several different types of exotic fish and four different types of prawns including something called a Yami (spelling?) which is from Australia. And don't worry BDHQ people I also had plenty of veggies, fruit and complex carbs. I did shy away from the salad that looked real good except the label that read, marinated snail salad. It looked great but the name threw me of.

Anyways I flew into Chennai a day late and had a pretty intense drive from the airport to the hotel. Picture it being 1:00 am and I am in what is considered a "deluxe" car with air conditioning. I was actually stuffed into a compact with the windows rolled down. Also there are no traffic lights at night time and the lines on the road that we use to indicate lanes are mainly used as a tool to line up your hood ornament on. Fantastic experiance especially when I automaticaly went to do up my seat belt and the driver laughed at me.

Today I slept in a bit but went down for breakfast and then hired a tuck tuck for three hours. Yes I know it is cliche but I took the "three hour tour" It was only going to be one hour but I got on well with the driver and we just kept going. I went to a Krichna temple (sp) as well as the local zoo and snake park (rolled into one) Stopped at a few shops and haggled for drinks and fruit. My driver was impressed with my haggling skills. I have some great video shot off the traffic. Will try and load it when I get to a better computer.

Then it was back to the hotel for lunch. Had a great currie. They really know how to make it here. lol. Only cost me $4 and it came with 8 different sauces, rice, chicken curie, popadoms and nan bread.

Met a few of the people on my trip. Only 12 passengers and two crew so should be fun. The trip leader has already heard of me from the leader that was on my trip in South America. It appears my reputation has precedded me. Bad news as there is no bar on the truck so will have to stock my own supply. Good news as it will probably save me money.

By the way my spelling is going to be really bad, I think I am using an original comador 64 computer to type on or at the least it is an apple 2. That being said I tried to load some photos but it didn't work at this internet cafe.

Off to dinner now and meet the rest of the group.

Have fun and don't work too hard. LOLLOLLOL

Mike.

Advertisement



11th April 2010

Sounds very interesting
It's really great being able to get your updates along the way....although you should keep some stories to youself, otherwise what you do when you get home? We'll already know the whole the trip! I'm not surprised you're reputation has preceded you! It seems you are a force to be reckoned with! Safe travels....DD

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb