Day 20 to 23(am)


Advertisement
Asia
March 5th 2010
Published: March 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 20 - Was still not feeling great so chilled out a bit and then decided to go out one last time in Beijing. I went to this really cool park that in the top Pagoda you could see right out over all the city and look down at the forbidden city. It was actually nice and sunny which was nice. I had a stroll round till I got tired again and then wondered back. Parks are never that tranquil in Beijing as they are so well utilise. There were loads of locals there just having fun. I decided to ride home in a tuk tuk thing which was fun but a bit strange. Watched a CSI DVD for the rest of the day after trying briefly to ride a hostel bike for a bit (i lasted 20 mins). Wasn't feeling great again by the afternoon and only managed a tiny part of the dinner I ordered. Got a cab to Beijing South station and at that point everyone in the group had now gone their separate ways too. Bit of a weird feeling but I'm sure I will see them again. Beijing South is a new station and was really nice and bright, just like my sleeper train. I had got a soft sleeper ticket as I wanted a good night sleep (ha ha). It was an amazing train with 4 beds to a room with a TV for each bed. Unfortunately I was sharing with 1 other woman, a mum dad and 3 year old. Not fun and bit too crowded. Went to sleep and the train started moving. About 2 hours later I realised that the room was boiling and we weren't moving. Turns out that we hadn't moved for about 2 hours and the electricity had stopped working and the air con was therefore not working... it was just like being in a train in the UK. Then a policeman came along, there was a lot of shouting and i didn't have a clue what was going on except what the bloke in the next cabin was telling me in bits of English. 20 mins later it was all fixed but I was feeling terrible by this point. Somehow managed to get back to sleep.

Day 21 - Because the train was delayed I got up at 7am just incase the train had made up time but it hadn't and we didn't arrive till half ten. Managed to figure out how to get to the hostel I had booked on the Metro but with my big bag, navigating was a bit of an effort. Finally arrived at the hostel about 11.30 and then they couldn't find my booking and they evetually gave me a key that didn't work and I was soaking wet by this point as it had started to rain on my way there. Got to the dorm and I was greeted by a complete mess made by these German girls who were still in bed and I was feeling not so good about Shanghai. Looked out the window and it was absolutely pouring with rain now and there was a massive thunderstorm going on. The hostel is in a really good location and from the roof top bar you can see from across the bund to all the new modern building in Padong (google the oriental pearl tower) but it was so clouded I couldn't see any of the building. Didn't want to waste the day so bought a broli and had a stroll along the bund. Got soaked and realised that they were doing building works all along the river front so couldn't get the museum I wanted etc. RUBBISH!!! It was 4pm and I was thinking that coming to Shanghai was a mistake as I was really bored, felt ill and the hostel and staff didn;t have a great vibe. Then met the only other English person staying here. A girl called Jen who is really nice and was just having a problem with her bank card and not having a great time either. We hung out the rest of the day and although I was sick again that evening it was nice to have someone normal around while being ill.

Day 22 - Me and Jen got up early and sorted out her bank thing, she came with me to the doctors and I got some antibiotics. They ddin't really know what is wrong with me but it was reassuring to speak to an American doctor. Decided to try and make the most of the day even though by this point I was feeling really weak as I hadn't managed to eat much food in ages. It was according to BBC weather the only OK day we were going to have so went up the Oriental Pearl tower and although it was quite grey we could see a bit. Came back on the sightseeing tunnel, had a look at the french concession area and I actually managed to have something small for lunch and biggest achievement... something for dinner! It was tiny but I didn't feel sick straight away so there was an improvement already. Started to get tired so came back and got some good photos from the rooftop bar before the clouds came in. I am thoroughly unimpressed by Shanghai but it is nice that I am not alone in thinking it is crap. Jen leaves for Beijing today (wish I had stayed there so much longer) and I leave for Guilin on a sleeper train on Saturday.

Day 23 - Got up fairly early a massive clap of thunder woke me up.... there's a suprise it is raining again!!! Not sure what I am going to do for then next day and a half except take it easy I suppose. Glad we did what we"needed" to do yesterday. Feeling a bit better today but still not 100% and wasn't sick again so all is good.

Thanks for your messages...although Shanghai is not great I'm glad I'm not at work (sorry Bob) and I miss you too Grandma and want a big hug from you all!

PS can't get on Facebook on China so don't message me there.

Love you all! x x x x x

Advertisement



8th March 2010

Hiya - hope things have now got back to normal for you and you're enjoying the trip again. I'm now on a mission to get the house sorted before instructing the estate agents. You won't recognise the place when you get back. Anyway, thoughts of coming home are hopefully not in your head and you/re looking forward to the next adventure. Love you lots, Moot. xxx
9th March 2010

Hey hel, sounds like your having an ace time, its a shame you are ill, hope you are starting to feel a bit better, it is probably the horse you ate getting his revenge! I am free from sidcup now, which is brill. Oh and mr grasshead is strarting to grow hair, but i don't think there is any growth with the fly trap yet, it might start growing byt he time you get back, haha! xxxxxx

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb