Last call for mochi!


Advertisement
Asia
February 18th 2010
Published: February 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow, this is it! Japan portion of the trip is over..... how sad. And of course it sunny today, and I'm catching a wicked chest cold. Boo. I am going to miss Japan. Its started to become such a routine and I was starting to learn more japanese words and now I gotta learn Vietnamese! Tony helped me last night with the pronociation, so hopefully I dont screw it up.I had to buy extra luggage because I had no room at all, and this is with me throwing stuff into tonys luggage because he goes back to canada today. And both luggages are full full. So maybe I bought a lot???
So we spent most of yesterday just wandering around. After Tsukiji fish market, we came back to the hotel, everyone else went back to bed and I walked over the the Toyko metropolitan teien museum, which has really nice gardens around it and was originally the residence of Prince Asaka, and the house was completed in 1933, so its a bit more modern then some of the other residences I have seen. It was largley filled with italian art from the Macchiaioli, a group of artists that had gathered together and met quite regularly to discuss art and began meeting at this villa Castiglioncello, where they began painting its surroundings. The house was really cool and the art was ineresting as well as I think there was a way they were painting it that made the most out of reflecting light.Then i walked around the gardens for a bit and headed back to wake up my companions. All I wanted to do for our last day was spend more time in Harajuku and Shibuya, because I wanted to wander a bit more in those areas. This of course led to more shopping..... and a quick stop to kiddyland, where snoopy town is located,. Yes snoopy town!!! so much fun. We finished our day off with more walking in Shibuya and a revisit to an amazing ramen shop that jill and bonnie had eaten at before. So I started thinking, now i am going to a compleatly different place, which I am really excited about, but also have my reservations. I just really hope I dont get sick ffrom the food, because that would be tragic. But here is my list of things i will miss from japan,
1.warm toilet seats
2.friendly people and respect
3.cleanliness
4.mochi and ramen and steam buns
5.sushi and bento boxes
6.green tea!!!

I will not miss the cold though as we head to a warm humid climate , and I should be able to balance my money situation a bit better as money will take me a lot further there...

We are in vietnam now, but internet accsess and trying to upload pics are a bit hard while we are with jills relatives. hopefully once we get to ho chi minh i can update pics. ps. its stinking hot here!

Advertisement



20th February 2010

How was Snoopy town? How many more Snoopy items did you get to add to your collection? I think you're going to need a bigger place to live after this trip, as it sounds like you are bringing at the very least 1/2 of Japan home with you. Have fun in Vietnam. Love Mom
21st February 2010

Have fun in Vietnam!!
Hey ,you know how I am with computers I wrote comments on Feb 12 and 17 and forgot to but my name So now you know it was me and not some random crazy person. I am so glad that you are having lots of fun, but I can not believe that you are already done with Japan and in vietnam already, that must have seemed so fast. And Tony is not going to Vietnam?? It must be wonderful for Jill to see some of her relatives. I really hope you don't get a cold, maybe with the warmer weather it will go away. Take care.
22nd February 2010

Bye bye mochi... Hello hot weather!
Hi Shannon, your time in japan sounded like a blast! Good food, good people, beatiful land, mmmm bento and takoyaki.... Fertility temple...so funny... And a faux pic on top of a famous mountain... And lot o shopping!!! Best of all good memories and tons of great pics. I hope you have a great time in Vietnam and we can't wait to hear more of your adventure.... Have fun!!

Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb