India at last! Phew!


Advertisement
Asia
February 3rd 2010
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

OK - so I finally made a start to this adventure! After nearly 2 weeks delay and 4 re-booked flights later - I finally got my passport back with my Indian work visa on Tuesday and managed to fly out the same day. I arrived in Mumbai at 2am this morning - picked up by my long time friend Rajendra and have been napping and resting at his place all day.

Managed to re-book my train to Ajmer for tomorrow afternoon so I'll arrive in my beloved Pushkar Friday morning. Having a reduced amount of time now before I have to report in Delhi for my assignment (in country orientation for a month there before going on to Orissa) - I may well just 'hang' in Pushkar (and then again I may just not! No plan really beyond getting to Pushkar).

Having moved out of my house last Friday (I was just feeling like I needed to leave given that my friends Dave and Jen had moved in the Tuesday before - and while they were very welcoming, they had not expected to have me 'camping' in the back room while they tried to settle). John and Marie (swiimming group) had invited me to stay there in their lovely place in Holgate - so I took them up on it and that was great. Then on Sunday I went (intending to just be a support person) with them and others to Palm Beach where John and others were to swim in the "Big Swim" sea classic from Palm to Whale Beach (2.7 klms).

The weather was great and the sea looked calm enough so I thought - 'what the heck' and entered late and did it too. Was great. Personal best (well it's my ONLY time I have done this so....) of 49 mins so I'm good with that!

Had a lovely friend drive me to the airport on Tuesday and so here I am.

SO nice to be back in India - albeit I have been having a pretty nice time at home enjoying beach and sea and trees and friends. All good though - just different!



Advertisement



8th February 2010

So you made it
just checkin in. Glad to see you made it. See ya - I'm getting hassled off the computer. Bye
14th February 2010

Congratulations!
Congrats Paul: 1. On finally reaching your beloved India; 2. 49 minutes swimming from Palm to Whale Beach! Wow! Good on you. Thinking of you and look forward to updates on the blog! Love to you L x

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb