Shangri-la in Goecha-la


Advertisement
Asia
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Eight days of grime + four servings of sweet milk per day + four yaks + 22 year-old five star cook + 8000m peaks = two stinky happy trekkers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Raja of Goecha-laRaja of Goecha-la
Raja of Goecha-la

David, aka THE ARTIST, finds time in his hectic schedule to break out his sketching pencils.
"I just need my space.""I just need my space."
"I just need my space."

People (David) may mock Sylvie for her overly cautious behaviour around yaks but she knows to take her cue from the guide and every kid in town bolting out of the way of a moving yak.
Dzongri ViewpointDzongri Viewpoint
Dzongri Viewpoint

Sunset at 4300m.
Brrr.......Brrr.......
Brrr.......

It may have been brisk at night but...
Camp lifeCamp life
Camp life

...it was nothing a little hot sweet milk tea couldn't take care of.
Views....Views....
Views....

Sylvie and our trusty guide BK.
...views......views...
...views...

At Thangshing (4000m).
Goecha-la pass:  5000mGoecha-la pass:  5000m
Goecha-la pass: 5000m

After a 4h15 wake-up and three hours of slow and steady climbing, we finally made it to the top.
The topThe top
The top

Well, as far as we would get anyway. Khangchendzonga is off-limits from the India side but attempts at summitting can be made from Nepal or Tibet.
Energy left to burn. Energy left to burn.
Energy left to burn.

"Just ...a...bit...more...to...the...right."
Himalayan Blue SheepHimalayan Blue Sheep
Himalayan Blue Sheep

How great it was to see that some of the fauna is alive and well in the Himalaya.
"I think I  see them...or is that dirt in my eyes?""I think I  see them...or is that dirt in my eyes?"
"I think I see them...or is that dirt in my eyes?"

Spotting the blue sheep made difficult with all of the blowing sand and silt.
...and no play.......and no play....
...and no play....

Mahindra, our amazing camp cook.
Game on!Game on!
Game on!

Nothing but a little impromptu cricket match at 4500m.
The Dream TeamThe Dream Team
The Dream Team

The last day of a great trek with our Dream Team crew: Sanman, BK, Biryung, Mahindra and Buda


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb