Goa- The alchemist’s question


Advertisement
Asia
October 5th 2009
Published: October 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post


I am in Goa right now, the beach state. I rented a motorbike today and just went all along the coast and also off-road where I got lost a few times! It was fun and I’ve never felt so free before. People in India keep saying how beautiful the beach is in Goa but I think the beaches are average because there’s still pollution around the area. There’s no surfing here either which is a shame! The people here are very laid back and meditating on the beach is tranquil. The beach area was initially famous for all the hippies that flocked over there during the 70’s. Now, it’s a famous tourist attraction.I like the lifestyle here but I think it is time for me to move on! I’m just going to show up at the airport and buy tickets to Delhi, amazing race style. I’ve never done that before so it’s pretty exciting, hehe, go with the flow, right?

The Alchemist’s Question:
Alchemists were considered to be the early age chemists. They were perceived to be mystics because people did not know the principles behind chemical reactions at that time. Thus, when they mix certain elements together to
Abandoned shipAbandoned shipAbandoned ship

they've been meaning to remove it from sea but they havent yet
create a small colorful explosion, people thought it was magic! There was always this idea that people had where they thought the alchemist’s ultimate goal was to transform lead into gold so that they will provide wealth to their town. However, in the deeper context, alchemists were actually really philosophical and enlightened. They would combine deep philosophy with science and so it was perceived as mystic. Those of you who have read The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream by Paulo Ceolho would know exactly what I mean. I’ve never felt so similar to a character before in my life and it is a small part of why I am on this journey right now. This small book inspired me to follow my dream and do what I love. Anyway, as an alchemist *wink wink*, I made up a philosophical question, see if you can answer it!

The alchemist’s questions:

The teacher asks his student, “At the highest degree of alchemy, I can turn lead into gold. But why can I never turn air into gold?”


Think about the answer. If you are thinking that it is impossible to turn oxygen into gold, then you
ShackShackShack

Some people actually paid for this tourist trap! they live in this really crappy shack for a crappy experience! hehe
have to also realize that turning lead into gold is equally impossible. Oxygen, Gold and Lead are all elements, meaning their composition cannot be broken down any further and they cannot be transformed from one element to another. So why can he never turn air into gold?


Hint: If you figured out the answer then you have figured out the principle of meditation!
(I’m reading Dan Brown’s new book, The Lost Symbol, so forgive me for being extra mysterious and informative of history, hehe, I’m just caught up with the spirit of it)

There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.
He had not a cent in his pocket, but he had faith. He had decided, the night before, that he would be as much an adventurer as the ones he had admired in books

-Paulo Coehlo


Advertisement



7th October 2009

beach
I miss the beach so much... hey, remember that golf course we went to on the Big Island? I think about those times a lot! That place was gorgeous... and I had a lot of fun golfing and chugging Vitamin Water. Hahahaha keep on writing! :)
8th October 2009

hahahha
ohh my buddha, I almost forgot about the chugging of Vitamin water! hahaha, that was so spontaneous and turned out awesome! haha
8th October 2009

yes, it's possible to turn air into a pot of gold , how ? to attend Babson's Entrepreneurship course 101.
28th October 2009

haha your dad ....

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb