Chatuchak Market


Advertisement
Asia
August 22nd 2009
Published: October 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kim at Chatuchak MarketKim at Chatuchak MarketKim at Chatuchak Market

I asked a police officer to take this photo of me and he agreed

Chatuchak Market



Even though I came out to Thailand for work, I was given the opportunity to spend a few afternoons touring around the city. Because I had visited the main sites before, I decided to explore the different markets around the city. Based the the bit of internet research I did Chatuchak Market was supposed to be the largest and most diverse market in all of Bangkok. On Saturday afternoon I made the trip to Chatuchak market and it was absolute madness! There were thousands and thousands of different vendors selling just about everything imaginable...furniture, artwork, kitchen supplies, clothes, pets, pet toys, jewelry, food...you name it and it was probably being sold somewhere.

The vendor stalls were crammed together and there was overheard coverage (imagine a really narrow arcade). The overheard coverage was nice because it kept the sun blocked but once inside the narrow alleyways, it was extordinarily hot. I had been warned that this was a market you must prepare yourself with by staying hydrated, wearing comfortable shoes, and taking rest breaks every so often. It was perfect advise.

I spent about 2 hours wandering in and out of the clothing, artwork, pet/pet toys and
Animals for SaleAnimals for SaleAnimals for Sale

PETA stay away!
kitchen supplies sections. I found 3 peices of art that depicted tradtional Thai houses on the waterfront at sunset so I did some bargaining with the vendor and purchased them...I got totally ripped off and I learned very quickly the art of bargaining...it helped when I went to other vendors later in the day. I also went to a pottery vendor specializing in celadon ceramics. I found a tea set including a serving tray that was very beautiful. With a little bit more skill this time, I managed to get an excellent deal on the whole thing...$30. In the states it probably would have cost me $100 easy. I also bought a mug that had a handle shaped like an elephant.

Right when I finished shopping, rain started to fall. Boy did it rain! I quickly hussled back to the metro station so none of the art would be wrecked. When I got to my station, I had only about a 5 minute walk to the hotel but it was raining so bad I had to go into a little convenience store to purchase an umbrella. I then made the walk back to my hotel as quick as possible.
Chatuchak MarketChatuchak MarketChatuchak Market

Busy, busy, busy!
By the time I made it to the door, I was completely soaked but the items I purchased were still perfectly dry!

To anyone interested in visiting a busy market in Bangkok, this is the place to go. Be prepared for large crowds, hot weather...and to get lost in all the aisles of vendors!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.372s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 38; dbt: 0.2884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb