vacation update


Advertisement
Asia
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last night the North American teachers met with the new Director and basically got the same round about answers that we got before.

- They strongly recommend we cancel our trips. They can not ask us NOT to leave the country during our vacation.
- If we cancel they will pay the cancellation fees for us.
- If we decide to leave the country and we get infected with this flu we are automatically deported meaning no more S. Korea, no more teaching.
- If we decide to leave the country we must come back to Korea and take 7 days of self quarantine unpaid. We must ALSO pay for a substitute teacher for the time we are missing.
, approx. 550,000 won.
Alright so we all agree: THIS IS BONKERS!

I mean to not pay us and then on top of that tell us we must pay to have a teacher take over our time is just insanity. They are literally making money off of us. They told us not to think of it like punitive damages but think of it as a way to deter us from going (same diff fools).

The director said a few things that did not sit well with me. I'm not happy with this kind of treatment from my employer.

I always think back to last summer when there were SO many concerts I wanted to go to but I had my temporary part time contract to work with the government. I missed a few wicked awesome concerts and everytime I hear a song from one band in particular I have the same thought: should have gone to see them live. Turns out, in the end, that contracted sacked me early without warning and I barely saved the amount of money I had wanted to anyway..

Lesson learned. I'm going anyway.

Advertisement



2nd July 2009

vacation update decision
Carly, you are right. That's part of the reason you're there. You get to see a part of the world that most of us never will. Malaysian vacations don't come along ever day....take lots of pictures! The whole swine flu issue is way overblown anyway. Tell your boss to pound salt. love you, Dad xoxo
15th July 2009

This'll definitely be a vacation that you'll never forget, Bee. Sometimes the things that you've worked hardest to get are things that you remember and appreciate the most. But my thoughts.....wait until the end of your contract and your safe at home to tell your boss to pound that salt haha xoMumxo

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb