Diego Garcia


Advertisement
Asia
January 16th 2006
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Diego Garcia

Trip map to Diego Garcia with a layover in Singapore

Diego GarciaDiego GarciaDiego Garcia

Me infront of the terminal
My trip to Diego Garcia actually started the week before when our office manager told me if I could go to DG (Diego Garcia) for a week to inspect some new fire sprinkler systems; I told him that I would have to check my January schedule. The first thing I did was an internet search for DG because my first thought was "Were in the world is Diego Garcia", the answer came up quickly with hundreds of hits I started clicking away until I settled on a nice site. DG is in the Indian Ocean, good...South of the Equator, good should be warm. That convinced me, since we just got out of a record snowfall in December (78"); I was ready to take a break from Kunsan, South Korea. So I got on the phone and told my boss that I could squeeze in the trip.

Well I left on Monday the 16th of January on a late flight to Singapore (will get to Singapore on another story). I landed at around midnight, and got to the hotel and ask for a very early wake up to catch the once-a-week cargo plane to DG.

Diego Garcia is a military
New CoconutsNew CoconutsNew Coconuts

New coconuts growing on turtle beach
island owned by the British and used by the Americans, the island is a Horse-Shoe shaped coral island maybe 100 yards wide at the widest point, it is home to approximate 5,000 military personnel and 2,000 contract workers of which 99% are Filipinos who make around $200-$300 per month (sucks), nobody on DG can bring family to the island (sucks also). Other than these bad points DG was an interesting getaway, I'm glad it was only for a week, I mean how many beautiful sunsets can you enjoy while drinking a Mai Tai or Margarita.

While on the island after work I did some beach combing, trail running, which a new experience was trying not to step on crabs or dodging failing coconuts. I also played in a golf tournament on the local golf cores, the cores was not that bad...except for the greens which were astro-turf laid upon coral, so the greens were very fast and bumpy.

Also went to the far end of the island to turtle beach and watch the sea turtles, got to see the wild donkeys that have been on the island for a very long time.

All in all the trip
CoralCoralCoral

Some red coral washed up on the beach
was a nice break from the very cold weather I left in South Korea and it sounds like I might be back to DG in the spring?




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

GolfGolf
Golf

This is the second hole at Coral Sands Golf Course
Were is Diego GarciaWere is Diego Garcia
Were is Diego Garcia

This was kinda cool, they all point to one direction
Wild DonkeysWild Donkeys
Wild Donkeys

Some of the life time residence at Diego
MeMe
Me

Me and my "Jag-Bag" Fantansy Football Trophy


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb