Cambodia -- Temples anyone?


Advertisement
Asia
September 20th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ta Prohm -- my favorite temple!Ta Prohm -- my favorite temple!Ta Prohm -- my favorite temple!

these huge trees have grown over this gorgeous temple!
I was very focused when I went to Cambodia--I wanted to see the Temples of Angkor--period. I planned this short jaunt (only 2 days) well so that upon arriving in Siem Reap, I went straight to the temples with a car & a guide. I wanted to make the most of my 2 days: I landed, straight to the temples, hotel, next day--temples then back to the airport!
They are gorgeous! I kept thinking about what the guidebooks had said about the temples of Angkor being the 8th Wonder of the World while touring. They combine both Buddhism & Hindusim & are a delight to explore. It was extremely refreshing to have a driver with an air conditioned car to jump into between temples though as it was a bit sticky. There are so many temples there that I did not visit all of them -- yet got to see some of the biggest & most popular. Angkor Wat was gorgeous even while monsoon rains hit & drenched me & my guide! It is being restored so the scaffolding was there.
My favorite temple by far was Ta Prohm -- the forest has been taking over this temple over the last
Angkor Wat (with scaffolding)Angkor Wat (with scaffolding)Angkor Wat (with scaffolding)

it has this huge cool moat around it!
hundreds of years & it is an incredible mix of nature & human. I think that parts of Tomb Raider were filmed here.
They use American dollars in Cambodia which is just strange to me. After spending 2 weeks in Thailand where everything was so cheap -- it was definitely sticker shock to arrive in Cambodia & pay 4 x the amount for water than I just paid earlier that day in Thailand. Plus paying in American dollars was a double whammy--I felt as if I was being hurt with my own weapon -- ouch!
I met this cool businessman from Texas on my second day there & we had lunch together. I got some business tips from him & it was nice to have lunch with another human being =)
I headed off to Vietnam on Sunday to meet up with the group & was really excited (& a little nervous) to meet my new travel companions for the next two weeks!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

huge face carving on a templehuge face carving on a temple
huge face carving on a temple

this temple had over a hundred face carvings-- awesome!


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb