The Faces of Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rob & BuddyRob & BuddyRob & Buddy

This is one of the children who stole our hearts at the orphanage in Hoi An - this little boy knew just how to pose for the camers
I am finally able to upload some images to show you. I thought I might group them into themes for easier viewing LOL!! - haven't done a count of how many photos we have taken; but I can tell you, Rob has taken more than me! Some of these photos are amongst my favourites - we found the people of Vietnam very friendly; as we would walk by them in the streets - we would often get a smile, nod and hello and those who were servicing us always called us Sir & Madam. The street scenes of the local people selling their produce is part of the charm of Vietnam and something I hope doesn't disappear as tourism becomes more commericalised in this country.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Chris & FriendChris & Friend
Chris & Friend

....see he just loved the camera and the little girl here was my shadow during the visit
Fisherman Hoi AnFisherman Hoi An
Fisherman Hoi An

well not really fishermen! - rather business men! - this is one of 2 men we found on the river front offering to pose for tourists in exchange for 1 USD
Fishing BoatFishing Boat
Fishing Boat

The true fisherman!
Banana SellerBanana Seller
Banana Seller

"peddling" her produce past our hotel in Hanoi
Fruit StallFruit Stall
Fruit Stall

taken at the market in Hoi An
PolicemenPolicemen
Policemen

This group looked very busy!!! -
Military ManMilitary Man
Military Man

We saw lots of different uniforms - our guide told us the yellow ones are traffic police, light green & blue are security police, dark green are military/army and white uniforms for the ceremonial military
School GirlsSchool Girls
School Girls

... in Hoi An
More School GirlsMore School Girls
More School Girls

on excurison in Hanoi
Tupperware LadyTupperware Lady
Tupperware Lady

...Vietnam's version of the household plastic merchants
FarmerFarmer
Farmer

riding past our resort, earlier when I looked out our window I saw another farmer leading his water buffalo past - I couldn't get the door unlocked to take a photo - bugger!! - missed that one
Embroidery WorkshopEmbroidery Workshop
Embroidery Workshop

...the embroidery handicrafts here are beautiful and of course a few are packed in my suitcase
Shop Scene 1Shop Scene 1
Shop Scene 1

...three teenagers in a window in one of the many tailor shops in Hoi An - cute!
Shop in SaigonShop in Saigon
Shop in Saigon

yes the scooters were driven into the boutique!
MusicianMusician
Musician

as we toured around we got to see some great performances of traditional music


28th August 2008

Great photos - all of them. I think my favourite is the fisherman/business man - he looks so authentic, but I love that he is being enterprising :)
28th August 2008

Great to see the photos. I'm looking forward to the next CM workshop and seeing all the girls arriving on their bikes! ;) I'm sure that is a skill to get all of that product to sell on a bike.....those baskets looked so neat. Hope you are both keeping well.
29th August 2008

Love the "Tupperware" lady and the "Enjo" lady . . . made me chuckle ;)

Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb