Random thoughts from Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 25th 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As a Vietnamese born Canadian who has returned “home” for the first time I am bombarded by different emotions and experiences. I have always maintained a universal ideal about who I am and where I fit in but, I it is difficult to maintain that perspective when our culture, my culture, predicates definition of some sort.

Our first few days in Saigon has brought on mixed emotions. Here are a few random thoughts:

#1The diversity in appearance of the Vietnamese people is wonderful. I have often been puzzled by the fact that I have often been told I do not look Vietnamese by Vietnamese people. I most often get called Philipino 😉

#2 The incredible action in the streets of Saigon have brought two truths to light. First, Asian people are good drivers. Vietnamese people are in fact excellent drivers and would make a NASCAR driver blush. 2nd Asian people are not predisposed to be good at math. In transforming from a tourist to a traveler I have been hard at work grinding out foreign exchange rates and I must say I rue not bringing a calculator an abacus.

#3 I have worked hard to cultivate a universal ideal of humanity but, watching the incredible industry of the general Vietnamese population I am filled with pride at the determination and work ethic of “my” people. Everywhere you go, people are working, hustling, trying to make something, anything work. It is hard to describe and there are certainly exceptions to the rule but, watching a elderly woman pushing cart full of food that she has pushed most of her life, and still try and wiggle an extra 5000 VND (15 cents out of you) is wondrous. The streets are lined with shops, hotels, and garages run out of homes where people are busily caught up in their small tasks to make an extra buck.

#4 I have inherited the Vietnamese penchant for good food and enjoyment of hammocks and leisurely pursuits. Working hard should be balanced by playing hard and the multitudes of cafes, restaurants and karaoke bars are a strong indication that Vietnams people practice this precept to the fullest.

#5 I am hardly one to wax poetic on the evils of captalism but as incredibly unique as visiting Saigon and Can Tho (Mekong Delta) has been I have a premonitions of a story told before. The growth and prosperity of the city has brought with it visible issues of progress and industry. Given the history of Vietnam and its recent revival it seems somehow more tangible. I feel we have come just in time to experience the Vietnam I couldn’t have imagined but hoped to see.


Advertisement



28th May 2006

I thought Boston was fun, but you 2 are making me jealous
29th May 2006

Full of life
I haven't been back to Saigon for quite sometime... However, everyone having visited Saigon recently feel that Saigon is full of life... It's absolutely fascinating to see the people and their government at the opposite ends of the political spectrum!!! --Larry
2nd June 2006

Good drivers?
You haven't been to Korea yet....they're notorious for driving everywhere EXCEPT on the roads..Taiwan has 11millon motorcycles on the road, that's like 1 for every 2 people that live there.. and they're WAY better than Koreans. ..anyhoo, if you do hear "love you long time" please let me know.. I'm yet to hear that in Asia..

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb