Cupping!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 1st 2006
Published: May 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow, aren't you guys lucky! 2 days and 3 entries!

Yesterday I went to the spa as you know and it was all going great until I decided to do cupping. Now for those of you who don't know what cupping is here is a brief explanation:

The masseusse puts oil on your back, lights a thing drenched in alcohol and puts it inside a small glass cup for a second or two. This creates a vacuum and then is literally screwed onto your back. The vacuun sucks your skin up making it look pretty vile in my opinion. All in all I had about 10 - 15 of these cups on my back. The idea is that they remove the toxins from the major irgans in your body and that the darker the circles are the more toxins have been removed. I have to say I do look pretty stupid with ridiculously dark circles on my back and it was relatively painful. I'll try and find a link to a cupping website so you can understand it better as it is quite hard to explain. I will try and take a photo of my back and post it on here. Sceptical as some of you may be with regards to traditional medicine, the darker circles that I got (and they were dark, dark red) were around my scar and near my left arm pit where I had my lymph nodes removed. Well, I thought this was quite relevant. http://www.prisonpotpourri.com/HEALTH/cupping.therapy.jpg

After the spa I was in so much pain I went to sleep it off and then went out with my lifeguard friend (whose name is Bao), Briony and his friend (who Briony quite likes). We seem to be hanging around together a lot recently, and it's all good, clean fun. We went to Karaoke and Briony and I bore everyone by singing stupid English songs like, Ten Little Indians, The Hokey Pokey and the alphabet song! They weren't actually bored but they did think that we were teaching them English.

The funny thing about going out as a foursome is that the boys don't speak English and we can manage basic Vietnamese, but we communicate in Chinese (well I don't). Briony was in China for 3 years before Vietnam and both Bao and his friend Sang have Chinese grandparents so speak both languages. So when we want to talk to each other it goes trough Briony. Believe me it's enough to give anyone a head ache.

Hope you are all doing good.. and yes Moni, come visit me!!!

Take care,

Rooj xxx

Advertisement



1st May 2006

hey, what abou t me?!?!
Ui ui, vou ter mesmo q ir a esse waterpark martocas!! Que bom q finalmente temos noticias tuas com mais frequencia! o computador é de casa ou compraste um pc novo?! já n vens cá em agosto!? como é q é? hmmmpff vê la! mil beijinhos miss you baby!
2nd May 2006

not massage
mmmm. Marta, the so called cupping is NOT a massage. People used those in the old days to help people with illness or fever. Like you said they are supposed to get rid of the toxin. My theory is after you have one, you are in so much pain that you forget your other pain LOL. I hate those when I was a kid, still hate them now. LOL
2nd May 2006

Dear anonymous fan, thanks for your messages. I never said cupping was a massage. I called the lady who did it a masseuse because I didn't know what else to caller... a cupping expert?

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb