News!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 30th 2006
Published: April 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello people!

Apologis for the delay in news. I've been putting this off for a while as I still have been unable to buy a camera and I am sticking to my theory that none of you will read this unless there are pictures on it, so... I have been putting this off but I'll try to keep this one short!

After being burgled, Lisa and I went to the police and sorted out police reports which was surprisingly easy and organised. I was half expecting it to be a slow and unorganised process, so I was pleasantly surprised when in fact, it was the opposite. We then travelled to Hoi An and got clothes made, returning to Ho Chi Minh loaded like camels and eventually Lisa returned home. The same day I went to work and grabbed as many substitutions as possible and this month I have worked quite hard, which should mean that the pay check will be a fat one!

Since going to the waterpark in Ho CHi Minh with Lisa, I have found it to be one of my favourite places to visit and chill out on my days off. I have been three times since and I'm going tomorrow again. The staff there are very friendly and recognise me so now I get a discount and even... wait for it... FREE TICKETS!! That's right! It's got nothing to do with the fact that one of the lifeguards and I get on quite well... Today and tomorrow are bank holidays here, tomorrow because it's the first of May and today because it's Liberation Day from the French (I think but don't quote me on that!). So today, we are going to get pampered! There is a hotel in District 10 that for 15 dollars treats you to massages, facials, nail care, haircut, THE WORKS! I'm pretty excited as it is so cheap!

About a week ago I moved in to my new house, and now have internet at home, making the update of the blog painless and hopefully more frequent. I live with a girl who I work with called Briony and our little kitten (who I don't know if I mentioned in previous entries - he didn't even miaow when the burglars came in, the stupid cat) and his name is Chinh, inhonour of my old neighbour who gave us the cat. He's cute and good company and getting his balls chopped off next Thursday!

Not going to carry on much longer.. can't be bothered really! Let me know what you have been up to! Oh and for those of you who know her, Sharon (old Uni housemate) is here and it's the first time I've seen her in 2 years! Fancy that..in Ho Chi Minh City of all places!
Don't think I'll come home for good yet... I am still loving it here but will be home for Christmas and not the Summer, probably via Manchester so will pop in and see you all at St. Theresa's!

Take care,

Rooj xxx

Advertisement



30th April 2006

...
Hi there. Well at least one person read your entrie even without any photos ... but I'm sure soon you'll get a new camera and will post tons of photos. Please, don't blame your cat for now meowing to avoid the burglars ... maybe he was something frightned or even sleepy ... LOL. By the way ... are you brazilian or portuguese ... I'm asking because your name, you see.
30th April 2006

Waterpark!
Yes!!!!!!!!!!
1st May 2006

Hi Marta, I read your blog picture or not. Anyway, April 30th 1975 is the liberation day from the old regime not the French. Not that the new regime is any better.

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb