Back and forth and so forth


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived back in Ho Chi Minh City after a four week visit in the UK. I had just started to get used to the flights, I have done it a few times now, but then they threw me a curve ball. Having got used to a selection of movies to watch on the interactive entertainment system, well it stops me getting bored, I then found myself on an old Air France 747 which only had a central screen. I knew there would be a movie, but this new concept (or old really since interactive entertainment is quite new) meant you had to watch what you were told when you were told and they didn't even publish the start times in advance. After several adverts and some new (in French) I decided to give up and get some sleep. I woke up briefly to find the latest Harry Potter being shown, but decided that sleeping was a better option. In all the flight was fine, but I did miss the opportunity to catch up on some movies that I had managed to miss by living in two different release zones (normally I know that if I miss it in the UK, it will either be on in Vietnam or on my flight). So the moral of the story is, don't get too used to the modern planes, they who give also take away.

Anyway, very happy to be back in Ho Chi Minh City. Over the last four weeks the weather has got considerably cooler, but would still be considered a hot summer day by Scotland standards. The benefit is that there is less/no rain and I do not need a towel just to walk down the street. I am looking forward to seeing a very different side to Vietnam now that the winter months are here.

Just while I remember, I should give a mention to the hotel I am staying/living in at the moment. Tan Hai Long Hotel is excellent value for money, has a varied buffet breakfast and the staff are more helpful than you could possibly hope for. Whatever you need, they will organise it and they are always welcoming. Since I am probably living here more than my own flat at the moment, it is definitely a good choice as a home away from home.

I have a few trips planned for the next few weeks, so watch this space for more updates as I continue my travels around South East Asia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb