Nightlife - 2 Extremes


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 25th 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have been to a few bars in Ho Chi Minh City during my visits. Usually I end up in the tourist bars simply because I need the air con and simplicity of ordering beer. I did have two very different experiences recently though.

For the first, I had been invited to a fashion show. A friend of a friend was the designer, so we got complimentary tickets. I arrived straight from work with my large laptop bag, and immediately stood out. Everybody else was dressed to impress in the latest designer clothes, I just had my normal work shirt and trousers. Started off sitting back stage with the models, which is less exciting than it sounds. Later I moved back out to mingle with the rich and famous (although I had to rely on other people to tell me who the famous people were). The bar was free, with promotions for a local vodka and Glenmorangie (I had to laugh when I saw that). Seeing the malt I tried to explain to them that I just wanted it straight, not served with ice, fizzy water and a slice of lime which seemed to be the local serving preference (apparently it does not matter how hard you try to explain that they are killing a decent malt by doing that, drinking it straight was just not the done thing). I gave up and decided to stick to the soft drinks. The show itself went well, despite the very heavy rain. The models improvised well like true professionals. After the show I decided I'd had enought being a VIP for one day and it was time to go home.

Just a few days afterwards, I went for a very different night out. This time we were in a street bar. This is basically an area of street with some tarpaulin to cover it (well it does rain a lot) and what I would call plastic primary school chairs to sit on. You sit with the locals (some of which are famous as well apparently), with you knees up to your shoulders drinking beer. The beer ranges from Heineken to Saigon, but if you don't want beer you go thirsty. It is very cheap and a good atmosphere. When it comes to going to the toilet, you walk through what appears to be somebodys house (in fact it probably is) and use the basic facilities. Not one for those that like their comforts, but if you want cheap beer and a bit of an experience it is well worth going to.

So, two nights and two extremes. This could easily be a metaphor for Vietnam in general, the very rich and the very poor. I think I will stick to the middle ground from now on though and just go back to the tourist bars.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb