Off to Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 18th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's Friday morning here and thought I would write a few words before Michelle comes down for breakfast. We leave in a few hours for Hoi An. A city on the coast of Vietnam known for its tailoring.

Yesterday was spent taking in the sights of Saigon. In the morning we posed for a couple of hours for pictures probably 60 poses or so. Many had Michelle in traditional Vietnamese attire and me too though Michelle looked beautiful me I don't know.

In the afternoon we went to the President's Museum. This was essentially the White House for South Vietnam. It was pretty interesting. This is where the President of South Vietnam was during the fall of Saigon. It brought back a flood of memories for Michelle. The tour took us to the war room with tunnels below ground for the President to move about or escape if necessary.

Walking around Vietnam you can find everything for sale on the street. People walk around and try to get you to buy whatever thry have. They are very persistant. For example a fellow had newspapers from around the world, USA Today, London Times etc. He stood right in front of me and even though I told him no he just stood there testing my will power. I did not buy a paper. We also saw bottles of snake wine. This looks a bit like moonshine but inside is the head of a cobra. I think I'll pass.

Last night we went to a buffet dinner with all of Michelle's cousins, 20 plus again. For those familiar with Todai or The Eating factory imagine a place at least twice as large. Michelle's family has been incredibly kind to me. They try their best to communicate. Last night at dinner they knew that I loved seafood. I only went to the buffet line once. After that it was "Tom Tom, try this try this". Even after I made it clear that I was about to burst they still brought more.

After dinner we rode scooters all over Saigon. Went down by the river and everywhere. Michelle isn't too sure about the scooters or navigating traffic. Somehow you just step out into it and make your move and people move out of the way or find another route. At one point we had traffic coming from 6 differedt streets all meeting at an intersection. We survived. All you need here is a gas pedal and a horn and you are set.

Finished the night drinking iced coffee at one of Michelle's couisn's coffee bars. These coffee bars are everywhere and seem to be a traditional hangout often looking more like a night club than say Starbucks. They even have vallet parking for your scooter.

OK more later gotta go to breakfast. I'm trying to send pictures but the computers are so slow that that is prooving to be difficult. I'll keep trying.

Till next time,

Tom

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb