finally arrived


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 6th 2008
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

hello everyone!!

just a quick note to let you all know that both adam & i have finally arrived in vietnam after a grueling 20 hour flight. the flight from alaska to hong kong was the worst! 10 bloody hours - with the most annoying a**hole sitting behind me!!!

as if being stuck on a plane for 10 hours, once we arrived and left the airport - we were stuck in traffic for an hour before arriving to my uncle's place.

my family is super nice - we arrived with lunch all prepared and waiting for us. we had chicken & beef stew with bread. the bread was the best bread i've ever had! after lunch we slept for four hours and was woken with dinner waiting for us. we had rice & fish & duck. we also had ballut....mmmm...adam's favourite!

after dinner we had our own personal security team (just kidding - my uncle's wife's nephew) that lead on a tour of the city on a motorbike. we drove around in congested streets - non-stop honking!! it's just CRAZY and amazing at the same time how there's so many motorbikes mixed with cars, trucks and buses and we have not seen one single accident!!

we saw the back-packer area and the night market. we're going to visit family tomorrow and after that it's off to dalat (hopefully).

i forgot my usb cord for the camera - hence there's no pictures with this post, but i will update with pics as soon as possible.

cheers,

tuan

Advertisement



7th September 2008

Glad to hear you both arrived safe and sound......20 hr flight, did your feet swell?? Dude, I thought they would at least give you a giant bowl of good ol' fashioned PHO! Have some dried cuttlefish for me and make sure you remember the taste so you can tell me all about it....looking forward to some pics and more updates :D
10th September 2008

I love stew and bread and fish and duck and rice!
I love entries w/mentions of food!! Keep them there and I'll keep reading, ok? Yummmm...carbs!!! Try not to lose a leg in traffic!...my dad says it's bad! haha (Is that joke too close to reality?!? If so, I'm sorry- be safe!!!) Oh, and can you bring back lashes for me?!? They're cheap I hear, and I'm running low!
12th September 2008

emily...
funny thing is that i was at the market today and saw them! i thought of you! *tear*

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb