Alcohol, Police, and Motorbikes What a Combination


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I had, as always, a few more interesting experiences before I leave Vietnam. Tomorrow I head back to Cambodia to enjoy some beach time. I have been quite disappointed in the beaches in Vietnam and the water at the beaches I have been to has been way to cold for swimming, at least from my Floridan perspectives.

So the other day I am sitting at a traffic light and this asshole in the car next to me drives over my foot. Luckily enough I was actually wearing shoes that day and he just caught the edge so it was just a bit of a pinch. I guess my foreigner legs stick out longer than the average Vietnamiese. Gotta watch it.

I had quite an intersting night driving home recently. My clutch cable broke on my bike and my mechanic is outside the city. I know I could have gone to one in the city, but mine is cheap and he takes good care of my bike. Even though he speaks absolutley no english he does a good job and never charges me over $3 for the few things I have fixed. I don't know how many of you
I Feel the Same WayI Feel the Same WayI Feel the Same Way

I must admit I often feel like this guy when I am traveling
have tried to drive a motorcycle with no clucth cable, but it is a bitch. You have to pop into first gear and over rev so it does not die. Well needless to say I learned how to pop a wheelie or two quite accidently. I was pretty happy when I made it to the mechanic.

I have been pulled over a total of three times since I have been in Vietnam. I have not stopped for any of the police and they have left it at that. I figure if they put in enough effort to actually try I will put in the effort to stop. The first time I got pulled over was over two weeks ago on the highway. I was on my way back from Mui Ne, the first time, and a police office (in a car actually) turned on his lights and pulled over right in front of me. I just went around him and kept driving. That was the end of that. The last 2 times was in the middle of Saigon. It was the police who stand on the side of the road and whistle. point, and wave you over. I just
Curbside ParkingCurbside ParkingCurbside Parking

The group getting drunk. The coke costs more than the rum.
did not look at either of them and kept going. They did not bother to try any harder so I figured why bother stopping. The less I have to do with police in foreign countries, or my country for that matter, the better.

I spent a night here in Saigon in the backpackers district and wound up sitting on the curb with a group of about 8 people drinking Vietnamiese rum ($1.50 a bottle) until the sun came up. It was quite intersting to see random people wandering home and inviting them over for a drink. We even had a vietnamiese prostitute trying quite hard to get one of us to take her home. We also had a local moto driver who spoke good english. I had a good time with some Irish guys and learned how to say cheers in Gaelic. We had friends who went to a club earlier on in the night and they were quite suprised to see us still sitting on the curb drinking when they were wandering home around 6 am. Hey what can I say. When the liquor is cheap and flows like water nobody goes anywhere. I think I spent about
RepairsRepairsRepairs

Getting the bike fixed
$4 the whole night.

I sold my bike the other day for twice what I paid for it. I was sad to see him go. I named him Nostrovia after his russian heritage. The girl I sold it to was quite happy with the price. Her friend that she is traveling with paid three hundred for his. I gave her an hour or so of lessons and she was ready to take the bike and go. I hope it does well by her like it did for me.

See you in Cambodia



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Spring RollsSpring Rolls
Spring Rolls

Smoking a spring roll
Mama BirdMama Bird
Mama Bird

now thats service. The waitress feeding the new owner of my bike
Sharing a drinkSharing a drink
Sharing a drink

the moto driver and one of the Irish guys
Not What it Looks LikeNot What it Looks Like
Not What it Looks Like

He was actually trying to pull her head up to get a photo of her.
RegistrationRegistration
Registration

The bike was completely legit


10th August 2008

I thought this was educational!!
So, where is learning going on with the groupie and the drinking and the whatever stuff? How about the cooking and the learning about other cultures? Nice picture of you on the bike. Thank you for that. I hope you will take that cooking class in your next country..... love mom
11th August 2008

Sweet bike
I am so jealous that bike looks sweet to bad you had to let it go. looks and sounds like your a pro now, cant wait for India!!!! see you soon player.
11th August 2008

Way to go!
Always best to not stop for the police anywhere in SE ASIA. Like you said, if they really want you, they will try a second or third time... Everyone misses you Sonny. Sebastian

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb