Saigon and the Mekong Delta


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 19th 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ho Chi Minh City (previously Saigon) was quite different to our trip so far, but very enjoyable. The city itself is a lot bigger than the capital Hanoi and it is also a lot more modern. It was interesting to see the changes in culture from the north to the south.

We went for a day trip to the mekong delta which was nice. Dad and I held a Python which was massive!!!!! but I really like snakes so that was the highlight of my day. We tried some tropical fruits, one was a bit strange but tasted pretty good. We tried some snake wine which was rank!! Very strong, I think it was rum based and had 8 snakes in it.

On our first night in HCMC we had a bit of nightmare when the hotel double booked our room, especially when they were dragging us and our luggage around the city looking for a suitable hotel, when we got one we dumped our stuff and decided to go for a beer to relax. We went into the first bar we saw, which was well erm lets say the type of bar a man might go to meet young lady for the evening, and it turned out to be the best entertainment so far!!!! So good in fact we went back a couple of nights later. I got on really well with the girls and they were treating me as their sister, we bought them beer and they bought me Vietnamese snacks off the street sellers to try, and we had an excellent night! The girls were absolutely lovely, and they kept playing with my hair and touching me, I guess they don't really get the chance to speak to many western women, but they seemed to enjoy themselves.

We didn't really do much else in Saigon, there wasn't too much there to do, so we just partied with girls!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb