Guns and war etc...awesome!!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
October 19th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I caught a flight from Hanoi down to Saigon which only took a couple of hours. I caught a moped from the airport to the main backpacker street where I decided to stay. The main thing I wanted to arrange was a trip to the Cu Chi tunnels and also the war museum so I arranged the trips the following day.
The war museum was realy interesting although abit graphic. I was just about to leave when the rain started coming down...really heavy rain! This old Vietnamese dude invited me into his shop and pulle dup a chair for me. We ended up drinking something out of this bottle with no label on....apparently it makes you strong...I was getting kidney pains after ever sip! Basically ended up having an hour long conversation with him. He couldn't speak English and I couldn't speak Vietnamese...interesting! The trip to the tunnels was awesome! Had a guide which took us through some of the tunnels which were dug by the Vietcong and also showed us a load of traps they used on the Americans...some pretty sick shit! Half way through the tour I manged to part with 600,000 dong on machine guns! Had a go on the Ak47, M16 and also an M30! The M30 used to be strapped to the side of helicopters and the noise it makes is unbeleivable! My ears were ringing for hours after!
I also caught a motorbike taxi to the palace after the tour but it was closed :o(
In the evening I went out with this English on the beers whihc was a laugh. It was so funny because this little Vietnamese kid would come up to us trying to sell chewing gum. I brought a pack off him and gave him some extra and he started doing this crazy dancing and grabbed my beer of the tabel. I have a video of it which is hillarious!



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

American bombAmerican bomb
American bomb

Apparently this can total a 3km area!
TunnelTunnel
Tunnel

This guy got into one of the 'Non tourist' tunnells. I just managed to fit but its impossible forme to fit into the tunnel leading from it
Closing the doorClosing the door
Closing the door

Once the door is closed you cannot see the entrance at all
TrapTrap
Trap

Once you step on this the door gives way where theres a load of bamboo stakes
Another trapAnother trap
Another trap

This was like two big rolling pis with spikes on them. You can imagine what happens when you fall into the pit
M30M30
M30

This was awesome toshoot. Unfortunatly there was no one about to get pics of me shooting it!
Me in one of the tunnelsMe in one of the tunnels
Me in one of the tunnels

Apparently these have been widened for tourists. It was still so small down there and really difficult to turn around
Exiting a tunnelExiting a tunnel
Exiting a tunnel

So nice when you finally got out because it's like an oven down there!


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb