Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon)/Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
July 22nd 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

mesmerizedmesmerizedmesmerized

Mariamman Hindu Temple
The long awaited trip finally arrived and I was off to Asia, my fifth continent. After 3 flights totalling 20 hours of flying and 6 hours of layovers we arrived in Saigon. It was definitely different than anywhere I have been. I loved going around the city in a cyclo, which is a guy on a bike riding me, my dad and elmo on a chariot like seat in the back. Mr. Kim was our driver for 3 days, I liked him a lot. I saw so many cool things. Museums, palaces and my favorite, pagodas. After seeing so many people bowing down and putting their hands together to buddha, I started to do the same thing every time I saw buddha or incense. The food was wonderful, and I loved dipping the spring rolls in the hot sauce. Yummy.

We took a day trip to a very colorful temple of the Cao Dai religion. It was a 4 hour bus ride from Saigon. This religion was started in the early 1900's and is a mix of many religions including christianity, buddhism, judiasm, muslim and others. The temple was so colorful and we got to see a service. On the
Cao Dai TempleCao Dai TempleCao Dai Temple

Very colorful
way back we stopped at the Cu Chi tunnels. THese tunnels where used in the Vietnamese war by the North to secretly get to the South's army and the American soldiers as well. We also saw booby traps and other interesting devices.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

friends at the war museumfriends at the war museum
friends at the war museum

they played with me while dad checked out the museum
playing with dad at Allez Boo Barplaying with dad at Allez Boo Bar
playing with dad at Allez Boo Bar

I later danced to the music and was entertaining the other people around me.
doing the splitsdoing the splits
doing the splits

at the Rex hotel
Cao Dai TempleCao Dai Temple
Cao Dai Temple

During Service
Cao Dai TempleCao Dai Temple
Cao Dai Temple

Before Service
View of SaigonView of Saigon
View of Saigon

Caravelle Hotel
Cu Chi TunnelsCu Chi Tunnels
Cu Chi Tunnels

Dont think dad would fit
Hotel AnanHotel Anan
Hotel Anan

With my favorite receptionist
IncenseIncense
Incense

These last 2 weeks
eating spring rollseating spring rolls
eating spring rolls

On the way back to Saigon after the trip to Cao Dai/Cu Chi tunnels. Loved to dip in the hot sauce
Lots of fruitLots of fruit
Lots of fruit

Ben Thanh Market


27th August 2007

LINDAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Para variar,ela está linda,mas...continuo sem entender nada.Me sinto como uma bebê de 3 anos vendo figuras lindas.Rsrsrsrs.Bj.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb