Day 9 & 10: Adventures in Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
July 23rd 2005
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday now seems a distant memory, as does the day before. Thursday evening was our last in Cambodia...and the evening was truly memorable. One of the last sentiments expressed to me prior to my return to our hotel was, "See you in Cambodia next year!" I laughed heartily.

Friday was consumed mostly with travels upon the mighty Mekong River. The twelve of us (plus our guide) traversed the river for approximately five hours from Cambodia to a port in Vietnam...stopping at the borders of Cambodia and Vietnam for passport examination and backage scanning (much easier at the airport than climbing up the hillside, bags in hand). Much of my time was passed ingesting the scenery...wondering what daily life is like in the places we pass. Frequently I have felt as though I am in a movie...the scenery feels to surreal--I am not truly here, am I? There was quite the dichotomy between what I heard on my ipod (thanks Shane, Val, Abby, and Greg for feeding my ipod!) and the lush tropical waterway (and just as an aside, ipods have internal electrical current converters for those of you who want to travel with them abroad). I took very few photos on my journey via water (and then today via van), thus my memory will have to recount the images later.

Upon our arrival at our official destination a few of us had drinks...and then settled breifly before venturing out for dinner. Elizabeth persuaded me to go off to have dinner with her, leaving the others behind. What happened next was great fun! I merely asked the cyclo driver (a cyclo is a form of transport where a driver rides a bicycle attached to cart which carries one passenger) if I could drive. He agreed...and we were off...from our hotel to the swanky restaurant I navigated the cyclo through traffic as Elizabeth documented several Kodak moments. Oh how I miss my bike! But alas, it was great fun! We had quite an enjoyable dinner before returning to the hotel via cyclo (the cyclo drivers waited several hours to take us back).

This morning we left circa 7 am en route to Saigon. Again we passed through idyllic villages where just about everything and anything you can imagine was transported via boat or moped. I even saw two cows float by on a small boat. And to my surprise, a great many people here wear the stereotypical concical shaped hats...again adding to the surreal moments.

We arrived in Saigon late this afternoon and a few of us went to explore the markets before our last official evening together. I am a bit sad...saying good-bye to this group. About half of the group will continue on touring in Vietnam for the next week plus while the rest of us will go our separate ways. My next stop is Chiang Mai in northern Thailand. I depart Monday (after a day of exploration in Saigon/Ho Chi Mihn City) from HCM via Bangkok to arrive in Chiang Main in the afternoon.

I hope all is well with all of you.... I am curious to know what is new with you and how you are enjoying your summer.... And, Happy Birthday to Maureen!

To be continued....


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



23rd July 2005

Hi Wendy, Kittens are well-they don't rest alot-Sapphire had her stitches out and the vet said she is a very healthy - well taken care of kitten. Sounds like you're having a great time on your trip. love from Mom-Dad and the Kittens :)
24th July 2005

Vietnam - surreal
As someone who protested the Vietnam war (before you were born) and suffered through the news reports of Agent Orange... the thought that you and friends are having a great time in Saigon is also a bit surreal. Stay safe / have fun Love, J
25th July 2005

Thanks for the birthday wishes, Wendy! As always, your travel journal does not disappoint. LOVED the description of the Mekong River. And I can't believe that you drove a motorcycle around town. What town was that, anyway? Hey - if you have a moment, check out my new website, "www.maureenduffy.com" Mike got it for me for my birthday.
26th July 2005

to the cyclo warrior
You brave adventurer, you! Can't wait to see all these fasinating pictures. I can't imagine how stifling the weather must be there, we hit about 99 degrees in Madison on Sunday, without the heat index, but that's probably nothing compared to "your" side of the world! Think of me as I paint my condo...loads of fun ;) Kim

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb