Immigration Thieves


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ba Ria - Vung Tau » Vung Tau
July 26th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Talk About AgileTalk About AgileTalk About Agile

Watch him go
So we find ourselevs in local vacation spot called Long Hai. It is a place where Vietnamiese people from Saigon go on holiday. There was not really much going on there so we decided to leave after one day, but as always there was an adventure or two to be had.

We go wandering looking for dinner around appearantly everything closes very early in Long Hai. We did get lucky enough to find a party of 110 immigartion officers who invited us to join the festivities. It was great fun. They kept filling our glasses with Heineken and giving us grilled shrimp, cuddlefish, and fish along with rice soup. Everybody wanted to sit and have a conversation with the Americans. At one point I was having a conversation with a guy and his 2 sons. He wanted to try my sandals on he thought they were interesting, because they were not plastic like his. I figured hey why not we are all having a good time. Let him try them on. He gives me his sandals to hold. @ minutes later I turn around and he is gone with my sandals. I knew who it was and where he was
LocalsLocalsLocals

They really enjoyed watching us. They really did not speak any english so they jusy sat around and watched us
staying so figured I would just get them back in the morning. Hey I still had his sandals I thought he would want them back.

I find him in the morning and all of a sudden he acts like he can't speak english and basically tries to shoo me away. I get a girl I met who speaks decent english and bring here over to translate. He just keeps telling here he does not have them and I must have been drunk that night and lost them. Yet I am wearing his fucking sandals on my feet.

Oh well. It is what it is. At least I got drunk and a free dinner for my sandals.

We also had some fun with a local kid there who really liked having his picture taken. He would grab us and bring us to all these different spots to get a photo of him there. Then there was this little concert in a parking lot where the local celebrity set up a stage and started singing love songs for an hours. It was funny to see all the little girls at the show.

The other thing we noticed is if they don't have a set price on a menu and you order something. When you ask how much you tell them no it too expensive it is supposed to be less and they give you a lower price. It is always nice to some idea what things cost so it is harder for people to screw you over.

Time to hit the road again and head to Mui Ne




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



28th July 2008

bitches
there just pissed that even though they work in the sandal factory for nike that they can only afford shit plastic sandals

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb