Silly me!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
December 30th 2013
Published: December 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I left out the photos of Mai (boy)! I'll learn to blog correctly yet if it kills me!

Anyway here are the pics of my friend, Mai!

As promised, I like to promote one of the "makers" now and again and this time it's Mai boy (as opposed to Mai, the female maker). "Mai was born with Cerebral Palsy which has mainly affected his lower body. He also suffers from eyesight and back problems. His mother passed away when he was two months old and his father left soon after. Mai grew up on Cam Kim, an island near Hoi An and was raised by his very poor aunty and grandmother. He was never afforded the opportunity to attend school As people assumed incorrectly that he also had an intellectual disability. Despite not having a formal education, Mai is very bright and has a passion for painting. Lifestartfoundation was able to recognise his talents and hone his painting skills. He now produces beautiful hand painted Traditional conical hats, caps and Tshirts. Mai travels by boat and uses his lifestartfoundation 'push me, pull me' to attend the workshop and English classes."

Mai is a very sociable person and loves sitting out the front of the shop whilst painting. He can spend hours on my mobile phone and is quite dexterous with his hands....on the mobile, that is! Who knows what he's downloading and I don't really care to know but the old saying "never judge a book by it's cover" comes to mind when I think of Mai boy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb