Ahoy! Hoi An Ahead


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
November 6th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Water, Water EverywhereWater, Water EverywhereWater, Water Everywhere

As soon as I stepped off the bus I stepped into a flooded street with water up to my calf. Most of the old city was under water so you put on your flip flops and sludge your way through the streets.
Friday, November 2nd - Sunday, November 4th:

Leaving the warm and beautful beaches of Mui Ne by bus I settled in for a 16-hour ride through the night and what was the beginning of a monsoon. It rained non-stop through the night with terrential downpours causing chaos on the rural roads and rustic bridges. I was sitting over the rear wheel well of the bus and would be awoken sporadically thoughout the night by water spraying my feet and legs from the swiss-cheese hole-ridden floor boards below; and my head soaked from the window leaking.

Hoi An was a very busy commercial port in the 16th and 17th centuries. Merchants from Japan, China, Holland, India etc. came to trade and you can still see their influence in the town's architecture. Almost all of it - streets, ports, civil and religious buildings - is still intact but many are decaying due to the common flooding. Located south of the DMZ by 5 hours, Hoi An was unaffected by the "American War"...as they like to call it. And no they don't call Vietnamese food, Vietnamese food here.

On the suggestion from a fellow traveler I visited Hoi An especially to
3 Suits, 4 Shirts, 2 Jackets and 7 Beers. Priceless.3 Suits, 4 Shirts, 2 Jackets and 7 Beers. Priceless.3 Suits, 4 Shirts, 2 Jackets and 7 Beers. Priceless.

Group shot of my tailors during my last fitting. They made feel like a millionaire!
have some custom tailored clothes made to order. For $250 U.S. I was able to have three suits (2 cashmere), 4 dress suits and two wool jackets tailored in less than two days. It was a fun process selecting syles, fabrics, getting measured, the fittings and most of all the haggling. The tailors were great and amusing. Since it rained nonstop I usually stumbled into the evening fittings with a few beers in me. I hope they found me as asmusing as I did them. But we all know how I can be when I have my drink on!

With 3 days of non-stop rain and much of the tiny old city flooded there wasn't much to do. The surrounding temples were closed due to the flooding and you couldn't access the roads to visit the surrounding mountains. So I found myself relaxing, reading and hopping from cafe to cafe between fittings. Luckily I still had a good book with me. It's pretty tough to take great pics without sunlight and fighting gray skies and rain. This is the best I have!






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mustard Yellow Wet RickshawMustard Yellow Wet Rickshaw
Mustard Yellow Wet Rickshaw

Almost all of the houses are painted a mustard yellow and are faded by the elements. Most of them were under water.
Japanese Foot BridgeJapanese Foot Bridge
Japanese Foot Bridge

A gift from the Japanese it's the town's centerpiece.
Year of the Monkey TempleYear of the Monkey Temple
Year of the Monkey Temple

The town's Japanese foot bridge started in the year of the dog and was completed during the year of the monkey. There are four statues (two each) located at both ends of the bridge. The villagers continue to provide daily offerings.
Pagoda Alley DoorPagoda Alley Door
Pagoda Alley Door

I found this doorway as I was exploring the small alleys behind one of the Chinese pagodas. Only if there was sunlight!!
"On the Road" Killing Time"On the Road" Killing Time
"On the Road" Killing Time

With nothing to do I pass time betwen my fittings with a good book and a few coffees. I was getting very bored and tired of the rain.
Traditional Old City HomeTraditional Old City Home
Traditional Old City Home

Almost all of the houses in the old city are this mustard yellow color or made from a dark teak wood.


6th November 2007

You are the man.
Hey brother, greetings from Philly. Turn around now and go back to the beach. You know you want to. Quick update from the world of sports for ya from your home town. The Fly-boys are off to a hot start (8-5-0). The Iggles are about in the bag for the year (3-5) and just got smoked by the Cowgirls Sunday night. Your Stillers are a respectable 6-2 and have been lightin it up of late. And by the way, your Sox lost the Series in 7 games, a valant effort though. Just wanted to shoot you a quick note and let you know that you are doing something that many of us, including myself, wouldn't ever consider doing. Nice work outta you and keep you head up. T and the girls look forward to hearing stories of your great adventures abroad. Take care of yourself and we'll talk soon. Peace, jd
9th November 2007

what else have you read
Alan- The travel blogs and photos continue to be great. What else are you reading beside On the Road? Hodoes On the Road read when one is on the road in southeast Asia? Mike

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb